Grilled Tri-Tip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I generally don't give bad reviews, but I used only 1/2 the salt this recipe called for, 1/2 the real garlic, and only 1 TBS of pepper and 1 TBS of garlic POWDER. It was still WAAAAY to salty!!!! It was my very first tri-tip, so I am pretty upset that this got such good reviews. Blown away, actually. I had to cut off all the edges and eat the middle. I like salt, and I like garlic, this just is not a normal amount of these products. I highly recommend staying away from this recipe. As far as cooking, I did a reverse sear which was pretty good. I set it on the indirect side until 123 degrees, then seared it. Did not sear it first, as instructed in this recipe. I have never seen that on any BBQ sites that I frequent. If I were to do it again, I would have seared at about 112, then let it rest for 15 minutes. Mine came out medium to med well. I wanted med rare to medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I'm not a big pepper fan. Would cut down on the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Turned out to be an enjoyable meal, but a bit on the salty side. Next time I will definately cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Four stars IF you cut down the salt (use garlic powder not garlic salt), and as another reviewer wrote searing does not seal in the juices, on top of that an internal temp of 145 will yield a medium well tri-tip, which in my opinion is overcooked and dry! Try cooking over medium heat instead and until an internal temperature of 125-130 degrees for a beautiful medium rare and don't forget to let the tri-tip rest for at least 15 minutes before carving on the bias, so the juices can redistribute back into the cell structure of the meat, otherwise you might as well go ahead and overcook it to start with because you'll just end up letting the juices run out of the meat onto your cutting board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shark
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Chiming in with the rest of the comments - too much salt....and the pepper was a bit overwhelming, too. I'd cut the pepper in half and substitute garlic powder for the garlic salt then rub with olive oil. Also, as stated by another commentor, grill on HIGH HEAT 3 MINUTES each side for a total of 10-12 minutes each side (flip 3-4 times per side). Wait 20 mintues before cutting. You won't be disappointed. AWESOME, JUICY, TENDER, and FLAVORFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I'm from Brazil and we grill Tri-Tip very extensively. the most recommendable method to grill Tri-Tip better known as Picanha in Brazil is to place Kosher salt on the fat side of the Picanha (Do Not Remove the fat off the meat) Place the fat side down on the grill first and the turn the Picanha to the meat side.... Enjoy it... Bon Apetit??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
WAY TOO SAtLTY. I had to make a gravy to offset the taste. This was a bit too rare for my family, so I had to put it back on the grill after slicing. But the meat was extremely tender. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovableLeaLea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States