Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
If you've never cooked a tri-tip roast, it's a must. It's the easiest, fastest, and tastiest roast that most people aren't aware of. This is an old family tried and true recipe that my sister discovered thru a friend many years ago. In my family we bake it in the oven, so good for people who don't like to grill. Great for serving to big parties cuz people just go crazy for it and will ask for the recipe. Using a dry rub and add a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, marinate overnite. The brown sugar balances out the saltiness of the rub. Make sure the meat is room temperature, and with the fat side up, bake in a 450 oven for 25 minutes. Then with the meat still in the oven, turn oven down to 350 and cook another 25 minutes for medium rare. If you want medium, leave in another 5 minutes. Do not cover with foil while baking, and make sure when it's done to leave it on the counter for 15 minutes to rest before slicing thin. If you don't let it rest, all the juice runs out and looks messy and dries out the meat. Served best with a salad and baked potato. Enjoy! This will be the most tastiest and easiest beef you've ever eaten. Most beef roasts take hours to bake, perfect for an after work dinner that you throw in the oven with baked potatoes and leave it alone. Always comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I used this on a tri tip roast but the weather wasn't so great so instead of grilling, I seared in olive oil and then roasted at 325 in the oven till done (about 1hr.15min.). I reserved a bit of the seasoning to sprinkle on to the roast after searing. It was really good. I will use again in the summer when we are grilling more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
THE BEST!!! I wish I could give this 10 stars, it was that good! I did leave the rub on for almost 24 hours and the only thing I changed was to use granulated garlic instead of garlic salt, which worked out fine because this is a salty rub. We even accidentally cooked this a bit too long and it was still superb. I ran to the store to buy another tri-tip while they were still on sale so that I could make this again--soon. I will never cook a tri-tip any other way, now. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
The BEST rub, ever! I live on the central coast, where Santa Maria style BBQ is #1, and this recipe surpasses that in flavor, hands down! I used it several times for family BBQ's and everyone asks me what my secret is! I cut my salt down to 1/2 TBS and use only Kosher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very good. I think the key here is the celery salt and rosemary...possibly the sage. I usually work in a little Worcestershire or steak sauce before applying the rub (for slight carmelization), then broil each side until browned, continue to roast at 370 until done (use a meat thermometer). Amazing results every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was my first dry rub and everybody loved it. I did make a couple of changes, I read the other reviews and did cut out the salt and added 2TBS garlic powder, also increased the black pepper from 1/4 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon coarse black pepper, and I cooked it in a rotisserie. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxie
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
YUM! This was an excellent Rub. I will keep on using this, it was delicious. I did bake my Tri-Tip (after searing) @ 350 for about an hour or so, I like mine Medium Rare :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent choice for grilled tri tip roast. First time, I made the rub exactly as written. Second time, I corrected to 1 tsp salt and crushed celery seed instead of celery salt. Perfection! As other cooks recommended, moistened the meat with worchester sauce before the rub. Personal preferrence only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This rub was great!! As other viewers, I omitted the garlic salt & used garlic powder. That is all I changed. I had a 2 1/4 lb roast. Roasted it in oven @ 425 degrees for 40 min; tented it, and it was moist and delicious. My tri-tips have never turned out this great and moist. Served with mashed potatoes, gravy, and salad. It is only me & hubby, so we will be having leftovers tonight, and if any left, will be making 'fajitas' tomorrow for lunch. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is a great rub. I plan on using it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States