Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I thought it was way too salty and that the rub mixture was too strong. Husband and kid liked it though. Will make again but just cut back the spices and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This review is just for the flavor of the rub. It is excellant! One change, just used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, personal preference. I use it on sirloin tip roast, bake at 500 degrees for 10 min per pound then turn oven off for an additional 10 min per pound, do not disturb, no opening to take a peek. Then remove and cover with foil and let rest 15-20min. Perfection everytime. And the juices produced....so yummy to dip the meat in. Everyone I have made this dish for loves it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is the best tri-tip rub and has become a go-to in our home. I make large batches and keep ready made in a jar with my spices. The only change we make is to cut down the salt (I use less than half what the recipe calls for). Other than that, it is sheer perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made this recipe 3 times, always prepping the night before. The first time was a bit too salty, as other posters have mentioned. I modified the 2nd time and it was better. This time, I took another poster's advice and added some sugar, only a tablespoon, and it was perfect. Highly recommend this rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Made it tonight with a roast that weighed 1.65 lb., and adjusted the rub accordingly (for 7 servings). We cut the salt (as recommended) by 50% and used kosher salt, and substituted 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic for the garlic salt and garlic powder. My husband seared it on a gas grill for about ten minutes on each side, then turned off one of the burners and turned the other down (to about 390 degrees) and cooked it indirectly for 30 minutes, letting it rest (covered) on the counter, for about ten minutes. It was medium rare, just perfect, juicy, tender and delicious! If it had any more saltiness to it, it would have been too salty. By reducing the salt by half and substituting garlic for garlic salt, it was just right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
We mix up a bunch of the rub and save the extra in an air tight container in the pantry. Makes prep really quick. We also rub a light coat of Worchestershire sauce on the try-tip before adding the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
A "can't go wrong" receipe. I punched some holes and added slivers of garlic, but that is my preference for roast meats. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Lamoille, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This rub is fantastic! I used kosher salt instead of table salt. The meat took less time to cook than stated in the recipe. Even though it was a bit med-well. it was very moist and flavorful. Will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is unqualified the BEST piece of beef I have EVER eaten!!! I used fresh crushed garlic, and seared it on the stove then oven-roasted it, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone loved it! It was a bit salty, but no one added any seasoning to it when served, so... perfection! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States