Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is the best tri-tip rub and has become a go-to in our home. I make large batches and keep ready made in a jar with my spices. The only change we make is to cut down the salt (I use less than half what the recipe calls for). Other than that, it is sheer perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made this recipe 3 times, always prepping the night before. The first time was a bit too salty, as other posters have mentioned. I modified the 2nd time and it was better. This time, I took another poster's advice and added some sugar, only a tablespoon, and it was perfect. Highly recommend this rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Made it tonight with a roast that weighed 1.65 lb., and adjusted the rub accordingly (for 7 servings). We cut the salt (as recommended) by 50% and used kosher salt, and substituted 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic for the garlic salt and garlic powder. My husband seared it on a gas grill for about ten minutes on each side, then turned off one of the burners and turned the other down (to about 390 degrees) and cooked it indirectly for 30 minutes, letting it rest (covered) on the counter, for about ten minutes. It was medium rare, just perfect, juicy, tender and delicious! If it had any more saltiness to it, it would have been too salty. By reducing the salt by half and substituting garlic for garlic salt, it was just right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
We mix up a bunch of the rub and save the extra in an air tight container in the pantry. Makes prep really quick. We also rub a light coat of Worchestershire sauce on the try-tip before adding the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
A "can't go wrong" receipe. I punched some holes and added slivers of garlic, but that is my preference for roast meats. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Lamoille, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This rub is fantastic! I used kosher salt instead of table salt. The meat took less time to cook than stated in the recipe. Even though it was a bit med-well. it was very moist and flavorful. Will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is unqualified the BEST piece of beef I have EVER eaten!!! I used fresh crushed garlic, and seared it on the stove then oven-roasted it, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone loved it! It was a bit salty, but no one added any seasoning to it when served, so... perfection! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Bravo!! This is the only way to go!Terrific! My roast was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I live in Florida and could not find a tri-tip roast anywhere. I asked my local butcher, who was happy to cut one for me. He then asked if I was a California girl, because everyone he has ever had ask for a tri-tip roast was from California. Anyway, I made the roast tonight, in the oven as several reviewers mentioned. I cut the salt in half as others recommended and rubbed the meat first with just enough Worcestershire sauce to moisten it prior to applying the rub. I let it marinate overnight. My roast was just over 2 pounds and I cooked it in my convection oven at 425 for 25 minutes, then turned it down to 325 for another 23 minutes. I then let it stand, covered, for 15 minutes. I initially missed the comment about not covering it in the oven, so it was covered for the first 25 minutes, then uncovered for the last 23. It was done to medium-well, which is more done than I would have preferred, but still incredibly moist, juicy, tender and flavorful!! This is an excellent recipe and a rub that would work on almost any kind of meat. I look forward to trying it on the grill, as described, and also to trying it again in the oven, uncovered for the first part of cooking at the higher temperature. The meat was nicely browned as I did it, but a nice crisp seared skin would have been even better. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States