Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I have never bought a tri-tip roast before and found it to be very tough. The marinade was pretty good so I gave it 2 stars, but the cut of beef was too tough for grilling and we couldn't eat it. Maybe better in a very slow oven or crock pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
tri tip is just another name for a sirloin tip roast. I hate in when they make up new names for cuts of meat, just like flat iron steak, has always been know as a blade steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Oh my way to much salt celery salt garlic salt and regular salt No way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I am giving your recipe a 4-star rating only because my family loved it! I, on the other hand, was not a fan of the flavor which makes me reluctant to give a personal review, but I will give you my honest opinion since I was the one cooking the Tri-Tip. :) This was my first time cooking a Tri- Tip so I liked the idea of your rub recipe for easy insurance of tenderness & flavorful meat. However, personally, I thought the end result was too salty and the rosemary I think gave it the flavor I was not fond of. I love rosemary on my chicken recipes, but I guess not on my beef meats. Sorry to make that sound like a negative for your recipe so I hope others do not take it that way. My husband RAVED about the Tri-Tip so your rub was a big hit with him!! I will use your rub recipe in the future and maybe try it on my chicken recipe :) Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I am making this for the third time in two months it is so tasty! I use my mortar and pestle to grind up the herbs. I also prefer hickory chips when I smoke the meet after searing it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
very tasty on a london broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
made it according to original recipe except that i used fresh herbs instead of dried and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
There was an herb in here I REALLY didn't like. Can't figure out what it was. Will not remake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Delicious. The whole family was back for more. I was out of celery salt, so I didn't use it, but it was OK without. I also only had a 1.5 lb tri-tip so I divided the spices called for in half. This was so good. My butcher rarely offers this cut, so I'm going to start asking him for it more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is without a doubt the BEST tri tip we have ever had! The only change I made was to add an extra 1/4 tsp of dill, and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Then I followed happywifey's directions for baking in the oven. Then I take it out, put foil on it for 15 minutes and then slice! Comes out perfect every time. I am always asked to make this. This is the only way I will ever cook tri tip again. This recipe is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States