Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excellent rub! Followed recipe exactly and all my friends loved it. I have made it 4 times now and there are never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
The best tri-tip I have ever cooked! I cooked it in the oven instead of the grill at 350 for an hour and a half. This made it a little more done than I would have liked(medium), but it was still very flavorful and juicy. Two hours in the frige before cooking is a must. This allows the flavors of the rub to penetrate the meat. I cooked mine fat side up in a roasting pan. Thanks again, I will be using this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Amazing!!! I rubbed the roast with the seasoning in the morning, left it in the fridge all day, and then broiled it for 17 minutes for dinner. The roast was so flavorful, juicy and perfectly pink in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Good, but a bit on the herby side for my family at least. I did substitute herbs for the herb salts, which may have helped with this. A bit of fine tuning may be in order to get the new ratios correct. Still, overall the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Delicious, came out great. Followed advice of another reader, and rubbed a little worcestershire on both sides before rubbing on spices. Turned out great! Followed cooking directions to the tee and came out really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm a transplant from California so I love the original Pappy's seasoning for Tri-Tip but I thought it's time to try something different. It's hard to get a cut of Tri-Tip in the northeast so I put this rub on steak and broiled it for 10 minutes. AMAZING!! Can't wait to try it on Tri-Tip on the grill! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
If you've never cooked a tri-tip roast, it's a must. It's the easiest, fastest, and tastiest roast that most people aren't aware of. This is an old family tried and true recipe that my sister discovered thru a friend many years ago. In my family we bake it in the oven, so good for people who don't like to grill. Great for serving to big parties cuz people just go crazy for it and will ask for the recipe. Using a dry rub and add a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, marinate overnite. The brown sugar balances out the saltiness of the rub. Make sure the meat is room temperature, and with the fat side up, bake in a 450 oven for 25 minutes. Then with the meat still in the oven, turn oven down to 350 and cook another 25 minutes for medium rare. If you want medium, leave in another 5 minutes. Do not cover with foil while baking, and make sure when it's done to leave it on the counter for 15 minutes to rest before slicing thin. If you don't let it rest, all the juice runs out and looks messy and dries out the meat. Served best with a salad and baked potato. Enjoy! This will be the most tastiest and easiest beef you've ever eaten. Most beef roasts take hours to bake, perfect for an after work dinner that you throw in the oven with baked potatoes and leave it alone. Always comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxie
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
YUM! This was an excellent Rub. I will keep on using this, it was delicious. I did bake my Tri-Tip (after searing) @ 350 for about an hour or so, I like mine Medium Rare :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Wow! Wow! WOW! This is the best rub on the planet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States