Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe made me a rock star... thank you! I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I rubbed down the meat, wrapped it in plastic wrap, placed it in a Ziplock (for a little extra protection), and let it chill in the fridge for 24 hours. I removed the tri-tip from the fridge about an hour before grilling. Then, I pounded the meat down with my fist (while it was still wrapped in plastic) before searing/cooking it as directed. I am AMAZED at how the rub flavored the meat all the way through. It was truly fantastic. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I was a bit nervous when I first mixed up the spices, as I didn't really care for the smell. But after cooking on the grill, this came out much better than I thought. A bit salty for my taste, so I might follow the suggestions of others and add some brown sugar when making again. Overall, a nice change from slapping BBQ sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Amazing flavor. This smelled soooo good on the grill. Our house smelled like a steakhouse! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
cut the garlic salt , up'd the black pepper, love the blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent choice for grilled tri tip roast. First time, I made the rub exactly as written. Second time, I corrected to 1 tsp salt and crushed celery seed instead of celery salt. Perfection! As other cooks recommended, moistened the meat with worchester sauce before the rub. Personal preferrence only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Great Rub! A little on the salty side so be careful with the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Lakeport, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excellent rub! Followed recipe exactly and all my friends loved it. I have made it 4 times now and there are never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
The best tri-tip I have ever cooked! I cooked it in the oven instead of the grill at 350 for an hour and a half. This made it a little more done than I would have liked(medium), but it was still very flavorful and juicy. Two hours in the frige before cooking is a must. This allows the flavors of the rub to penetrate the meat. I cooked mine fat side up in a roasting pan. Thanks again, I will be using this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Amazing!!! I rubbed the roast with the seasoning in the morning, left it in the fridge all day, and then broiled it for 17 minutes for dinner. The roast was so flavorful, juicy and perfectly pink in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States