Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Grilled this up for family and it was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I have made this over and over. I use it on a lot of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Thank you so much for this recipe. I just hosted dinner for seven folks and it was a huge hit! I edited the salt as other suggested. Here's what we edited and thought it was great: 1/2 tablespoon salt, garlic powder instead of salt, no celery salt, we didn't have any rosemary, so I just left that out and it was still great, and added 1 tablespoon brown sugar Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Very tasty rub, though a bit too salty. We didn't have celery salt and garlic salt, so we omitted them and just added a tad bit more salt - next time would suggest using the exact amount of salt (or a little less) and none of the other types of salt. I followed happywifey's suggestion and added some brown sugar and baked the roast instead of grilling it. Overall, the roast turned out great, but I had to cook it much longer than her suggested 450 degrees for 25 mins and 350 degrees for 30 mins - I had to tack on an extra 15-20 mins to get the roast to medium (internal temperature of 160 degrees, though undercook 5-10 degrees less as the roast cooks a bit more as it is resting). Delicious recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Oh SO GOOD!! Made it as written, but ended up doubling up on it all to cover the tri tip well. Might have been a little salty, but dang was it YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This rub is wonderful!! It is so flavorful and easy! We have tried it on tri tip and steaks (tri tip was better) and we have served it to family and now they ask for it specifically!! This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bodfish, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Really really good! I halved the salt and used garlic powder and celery seed as suggested instead. I know the salt is a tenderizer but I'm pregnant and watching sodium. Eventually I'll try it will all the salt. Next time I will use celery salt because the celery was prominant using seeds - it tasted great but thats probably not how its supposed to taste. My tri-tip steaks from Costco were awesome! Saved half the rub and added some brown sugar as suggested by another and used it on a tenderloin filet later and I couldn't really tell the difference but my husband said he liked it better...so I'll add brown sugar from now on. Thanks for a great alternative to marinades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
We cut back on the salt (watching our sodium intake) but it didn't compromise the flavor! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
We grill Tri-Tip often, but this is the first time I used a dry rub. In the past we have always used a marinade, Soyvay, which has a Teriyaki flavor. I was skeptical, but because of the great reviews I tried it. The reviews were right and this was absolutely delicious! Remember not to poke at the meat with a fork or all the juices will run out and you have to let it rest or you will have a tough Tri-Tip. Enjoy! We did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAFEMME83
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I thought this had WAY too much salt and I come from a family who has been known to carry salt shakers in their purses. I would at least cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFEMME83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States