Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is one of my favorite rubs to use on tri-tip roast. Once I've evenly rubbed the mixture all over the roast, I wrap it with Saran then put it in a ziplock bag in the fridge for several hours or overnight. I prefer tri-tip done in the oven, starting it out at 450 degrees for 25 minutes as others have suggested, then dropping it to 350 until it reaches an internal temperature of 140. I let it rest loosely covered with foil for 15 minutes before slicing thin with an electric carving knife. I get raves every time I serve it at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Used this rub on a tri-tip roast (3 lbs) recently subbing garlic powder instead of garlic salt and celery seed instead of celery salt and used a teas. of sea salt instead of a tablespoon. That sounded like a lot of salt. Rubbed the meat and let it sit in fridge for 5 hours. It was delicious. We were rubbing the last few slices in the plate drippings and gobbling them up as we cleaned the kitchen, couldn't get enough of that flavor. I plan to keep a jar of this all mixed up and ready to go to sprinkle on burgers before grilling, steaks, etc. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I made this last night but instead of putting it on the grill, I put it in a slow cooker after searing it on all sides. This tasted so good. I put my carrots then potatoes on top with a cup of beef broth in the bottom. It was moist, just great. My kids came over and they too just loved it. I used the broth mixed with the meats own mixed in and made a gravy using corn starch mixed with water and was very good way to serve a gluten free gravy. I did only use celery salt and the other such as garlic salt I replaced with garlic powder with only a teaspoon of sea salt. I was great and not too salty. I can't have a lot of salt now days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
YES. Just - yes. You will not be sorry! Something about this combination of flavors really harmonizes well together. I tweaked it a bit; 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 TBSP garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder, 3/4 tsp celery seed, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp smoked paprika, 3/4 tsp crushed dried rosemary, 1/2 tsp sage, 1/2 tsp pepper. Rubbed it in and baked... my kids were drooling on my shoes the whole time, and my ketchup/bbq sauce loving husband even gave it a Huge thumbs up! Most of the kids had thirds and I caught my 11 yr old son licking the plate when he was supposed to be washing the dishes, lol. I'm making a big shaker and going to try it on a lot more than tri-tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum! Excellent taste and perfect doneness. Even my picky 4- and 6-year olds loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alienz17
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Used this rub on a tri tip today and absolutely loved it! Did add a cup of brown sugar and added garlic powder. Only thing I didn't have is dill. Marinade for 24 hours and turned out amazing. The brown sugar gave it that nice hint of sweet flavor and caramelized the fat while searing. I did not cook it the way this says but did use the rub and will def use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
this is the most amazing thing I have ever eaten... I only eat steaks when it comes to beef but I am in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Amazing! I usually don't use rubs but boy was I glad we tried this. Due to unforeseen circumstances, this rub stayed on the tri-tip for 48 hours! It had outstanding flavor. It was a little salty (and I love salt) but it could be because the rub stayed on too long. So, I'll try again with it overnight. If it's still a bit salty, I'll just use garlic powder or fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. Give this recipe a try - it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love love love! Super yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tasty but tough. Needs a longer cook time... Slow n low cooking will probably make this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States