Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
YES. Just - yes. You will not be sorry! Something about this combination of flavors really harmonizes well together. I tweaked it a bit; 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 TBSP garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder, 3/4 tsp celery seed, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp smoked paprika, 3/4 tsp crushed dried rosemary, 1/2 tsp sage, 1/2 tsp pepper. Rubbed it in and baked... my kids were drooling on my shoes the whole time, and my ketchup/bbq sauce loving husband even gave it a Huge thumbs up! Most of the kids had thirds and I caught my 11 yr old son licking the plate when he was supposed to be washing the dishes, lol. I'm making a big shaker and going to try it on a lot more than tri-tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum! Excellent taste and perfect doneness. Even my picky 4- and 6-year olds loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alienz17
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Used this rub on a tri tip today and absolutely loved it! Did add a cup of brown sugar and added garlic powder. Only thing I didn't have is dill. Marinade for 24 hours and turned out amazing. The brown sugar gave it that nice hint of sweet flavor and caramelized the fat while searing. I did not cook it the way this says but did use the rub and will def use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
this is the most amazing thing I have ever eaten... I only eat steaks when it comes to beef but I am in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Amazing! I usually don't use rubs but boy was I glad we tried this. Due to unforeseen circumstances, this rub stayed on the tri-tip for 48 hours! It had outstanding flavor. It was a little salty (and I love salt) but it could be because the rub stayed on too long. So, I'll try again with it overnight. If it's still a bit salty, I'll just use garlic powder or fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. Give this recipe a try - it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love love love! Super yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tasty but tough. Needs a longer cook time... Slow n low cooking will probably make this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My hubby is usually the one who makes all steaks, ribs, etc.. but this is one recipe I found and made that he requests over and over again! He usually has me buy 2 so we have lots of left overs. The only changes I made was to cut the salt in half (like others have suggested) and use the garlic powder instead of garlic salt. He also likes his rare so I cook at 425 for 25 minutes, then kick it down to 350 for 15 minutes- and rest for 15 min....rare in the center and the ends medium rare like I like! Perfect tri tip everytime! I wouldn't go the entire hour in the oven unless you like your meat VERY done. Excellent recipe... 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My family and I LOVED this recipe! I didn't have celery salt but used celery seed instead. Everyone loved it so much that they asked me to make it again the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I made this exactly as written and it was amazing. It was a little salty but I love salty so maybe next time I will cut back just a pinch on that. But this rub is fantastic, it made the best Tri-Tip I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States