Grilled Tomato, Onion, and Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
yummy! i didn't have fresh basil, so i added dried basil to the seasonings and olive oil for the bread. i just tossed the bread in the pan i use for grilling vegetables, didn't bother with skewers, and it worked great. i would recommend waiting to toss in the dressing until you are nearly ready to serve, the bread got a little soggy as it sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I broiled instead of grilled, and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
When I make this I don't grill the tomatoes. Instead I chop them and save the juice, add to a bowl with chopped cucumber and salt and pepper them. I then grill the bread (thick slices instead of skewered is easier), some bell peppers, and some onions. I also use balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiMax

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fantastic, I added cubed fresh mozzarrella cheese to it before tossing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lone Mopper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Pretty good salad! This is the first time we eat tomato bread salad and we liked it! I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings,for the bread I only had 2 stale French sandwich rolls and it workd out pretty good! so I assume you can use any bread you have available, I also added about 4 oz. of cubed mozzarella Mmmmmm! Thanks lstevenson! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
OMG this is one awesome salad! I love tomato bread salads, but grilling it is genious and gives everything a smoky flavor that's "to die for". I mixed my olive oil with a bit of garlic, salt, and Italian seasoning. I brushed that over the red onion and plum tomatoes. My bread was already stale (which I highly recommend vs. using fresh). Instead of cubing it and skewering it I cut it in half lengthwise and brushed it with the olive oil mixture and placed it directly on the grill. Not only does it work with the salad, but it makes one heck of a delicious garlic bread! I left out the cucumber as I didn't feel it really belong. To assemble the salad I didn't really chop anything I just layered the ingredients and whisked the red wine vinegar with the olive oil and drizzled that over top. Then sprinkled the finished product with chopped fresh basil and some shredded Parmesan cheese. Next time I think I'll add some fresh mozzarella cheese to take this over the top! This makes a fabulous appetizer or side dish. I could have made a meal out of this all by itself - perfect with a glass of wine! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
It was good, but didn't have the "wow" factor I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This grilled version of a classic Italian summertime salad is worthy of the ripest garden tomatoes and freshest herbs. A brief char over a hot grill (easy to do while the grill is pre-heating for the main entree) gives the bread, tomatoes and onions a depth of flavor which is nicely offset by the tangy vinaigrette. Delicious with big shards of Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very good! A great way to get rid of stale bread. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I found a really nice loaf of cheese day old crusty bread in the bargain bin and have been eating this salad all week. I really love the flavor combo's in this salad a d it is perfect for summer entertaining! Very fresh and loaded with fiber and vitamins.Thank You so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States