Grilled Tomato, Onion, and Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I tried this one last and my wive raved. I did remove the skin on the tomatoes after grilling them and before chopping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! We used a Focaccia cheese bread. YUM! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is one of my favorite summer salads! If you don't have fresh bread on hand try using frozen garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I found a really nice loaf of cheese day old crusty bread in the bargain bin and have been eating this salad all week. I really love the flavor combo's in this salad a d it is perfect for summer entertaining! Very fresh and loaded with fiber and vitamins.Thank You so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very good! A great way to get rid of stale bread. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This grilled version of a classic Italian summertime salad is worthy of the ripest garden tomatoes and freshest herbs. A brief char over a hot grill (easy to do while the grill is pre-heating for the main entree) gives the bread, tomatoes and onions a depth of flavor which is nicely offset by the tangy vinaigrette. Delicious with big shards of Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
It was good, but didn't have the "wow" factor I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
OMG this is one awesome salad! I love tomato bread salads, but grilling it is genious and gives everything a smoky flavor that's "to die for". I mixed my olive oil with a bit of garlic, salt, and Italian seasoning. I brushed that over the red onion and plum tomatoes. My bread was already stale (which I highly recommend vs. using fresh). Instead of cubing it and skewering it I cut it in half lengthwise and brushed it with the olive oil mixture and placed it directly on the grill. Not only does it work with the salad, but it makes one heck of a delicious garlic bread! I left out the cucumber as I didn't feel it really belong. To assemble the salad I didn't really chop anything I just layered the ingredients and whisked the red wine vinegar with the olive oil and drizzled that over top. Then sprinkled the finished product with chopped fresh basil and some shredded Parmesan cheese. Next time I think I'll add some fresh mozzarella cheese to take this over the top! This makes a fabulous appetizer or side dish. I could have made a meal out of this all by itself - perfect with a glass of wine! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Pretty good salad! This is the first time we eat tomato bread salad and we liked it! I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings,for the bread I only had 2 stale French sandwich rolls and it workd out pretty good! so I assume you can use any bread you have available, I also added about 4 oz. of cubed mozzarella Mmmmmm! Thanks lstevenson! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fantastic, I added cubed fresh mozzarrella cheese to it before tossing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lone Mopper

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States