Grilled Tofu Skewers with Sriracha Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These were delicious! They were gobbled up within minutes at my potluck supper! I followed the recipe exactly minus the jalapeno, I thought it had enough spice from the hot sriracha sauce alone. The tofu chunks stayed perfectly on the skewers. I used organic, sprouted super-firm tofu which is usually more durable than a lot of the regular non-sprouted tofu blocks I've bought in grocery stores. (It has a more meaty, less-smooth texture) If you use the right tofu it won't fall of the skewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Wow! This one should convert people to tofu! Very cheap to make, and a lot more filling than they look. And gorge all you like - they are really healthy! Use chicken for anyone not too keen on the tofu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Medway, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The marinade was delicious, but the tofu didn't stay on the skewers. we had to do them separately on tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
The sauce is delicious and can be used with other ingredients. Typically the first time I make a new recipe I follow the directions exactly then I tweek it the next time. With this recipe I left out the jalapeno so that I could have a base from which to determine if/how much jalapeno I'd use the next time. I also had some doubts about the tofu staying on the skewers so I doubled the sauce recipe and marinated shrimp in a separate container. I skewered the shrimp and veggies and used a grilling basket for the tofu and veggies. I also made one skewer with the tofu as per the recipe and the tofu fell off. This meal was an instant hit and the leftover portion served cold over spinach the next night was just a delicious. It's a simple meal to prepare and make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wdstkchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Oh good Lord- yummy yummy yummy! I had plain Sriracha instead of garlic sriracha so I added a whole bunch of minced garlic. Used onion powder instead of fresh onion. After I tossed the tofu and veggies with the marinade I couldn't stop eating the raw tofu! The marinade is to die for! My carnivore husband went crazy over it too! Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is the first time I tried cooking with tofu. My husband and I are trying to add more vegetarian meals to our diet. We prepared as per the recipe and we all liked it that includes my son and his girlfriend. Next time we will grill tofu longer since it was our first time we were afraid to overcook the tofu but the smaller more crisper chunks were a better texture. The marinade is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Amazing! I absolutely loved this! I am a huge fan of Sriracha sauce and not only did I marinated the tofu and veggies for a few hours in this delicious mariande, but I added more Sriracha on top of mine! The hotter the better. My only changes were to use 1 tblspn of sesame oil and 1 tblspn of olive oil, I used orange pepper and baby bella mushrooms with the zucchini....next time I will also add some chunks of vidalia onion to the skewers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My first experience EVER with tofu--was I ever impressed. So tasty! Highly recommend but be sure to use the firmest tofu or you will leave a portion of it on your grill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Not sure if the jalapeno was needed but this was DELICIOUS. Really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I have tried this recipe various times with either tofu or beef tenderloins. I suggest putting tin foil under the skewers because some of the tofu didn't stay on the skewer. It was a good way to get veggies into my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Grilled Sausage-Stuffed Calamari

Calmari is stuffed with sausage, red pepper, onions, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States