Grilled Tofu Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made this sandwich last night for my sister. I'm vegan- and I also don't use or like mayo. I put a bit more soy sauce on the tofu. I put Goddess salad dressing on the mayo side and fresh spinach under the tomato slice. I did use mayo on my sister's sandwich & it came out all yummy & crispy. I think this is a nice light sandwich that is quite good & very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is really good. I was also my fist time eating tofu. Very tasty. My only problem was the Tahini. I like tahini but on this it is too gritty. I suggest mayonaise on both sides. I also used about a T of shredded mozzerella on my sandwich. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was pretty good and the easiness factor is a big benefit! I'll definitely make it again when I'm in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I've just become a vegetarian and I was looking for something to eat while the rest of my family is having hamburgers/hot dogs. I thought the sandwich was pretty good. Next time, I might try adding some basil and a drop of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Mmm, this was pretty yum. I didn't have pita bread so I used tortillas. Note to self: Tortilla burn if you broil them for 4 minutes. =P Other than that self-induced disaster, they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELEYSBROOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I'm not much of a fan of tahini, but the tofu and tomatoes help to balance it out. Given Crazy Z's suggestion for more soy sauce and CARRIEZ's for adding mozzarella, this is an excellent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Pretty good! Quick & filling. I will make again, but add additional veggies (lettuce, peppers, onion) after it's broiled to add a little texture. I made on whole wheat because I didn't have pita bread and it was a smidge soggy. I think bread should be toasted first if you sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
An array of flavours makes for a nice sandwich here. The tahini really makes this sandwich. I didn't have pita bread so I used whole grain gluten free sandwich bread. I also drained the tofu and lightly grilled it. The only issue for me was that it only gets toasted on one side under the broiler. Next time I will lightly toast the bread before assembling the sandwich. Do not pass up this sandwich, it will not let you down. Thank you Cindy for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States