Grilled Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage with Tomato Cream Sauce Over Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was a wonderful dish. I did make a few minor changes. I used Italian sausage instead and browned them on the stove(too cold out to grill). I also added some yellow peppers, onion and extra garlic(as many suggested) and I sauteed them in the drippings from the sausage. I would definitely double up the sauce next time. I did add cornstarch, as suggested. This is a definite make again, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I also used chicken broth instead of wine but followed the rest of the recipe. The sauce was more like a soup. Way too thin. It had a good flavor but needs to be thickened up. I would make again but probably strain the tomatoes and use heavier cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I thought this was great. However was skepitcal on a couple of parts where it said table cream & this over all thickness of the dish.. I honestly didn't realize until afterwards, it was just cream and felt like a dork. I used half & half and had to use one of the Al Fresco Sausages in the line I felt closest to the recipe, due to availability in my area. Overall, I felt it was light a not heavy...and the sauce reminded me of pizza. Which all liked. Will make again, however will try 1/2 cup of cream cheese in place of the table cream for thickness. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Really good, quick, and easy. Less than 1 hr total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I used the tomato basil chicken sausage and we really enjoyed this. I will make this again as a regular rotation. It was good even with out the sausage. Everyone in our house asked for this again so thats 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
We really enjoyed the grilled flavor of the sausage, which I kept whole per hubs request. I did add a bit more garlic and I used fresh Oregeno, basil and tomatoes. I used the red wine but I let it reduce down a bit. It tasted great. We will eat this again using the fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by peggianne@me.com
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this today for lunch. I couldn't find the right sausage, so I used Roasted Pepper & Asiago with Mesquite Smoke sausage. I couldn't find diced tomatoes with Italian herbs, so I had to use Rotel which has green chilies in it. The sauce was too thin for my liking, so I added 1/4 cup cold water mixed with 1 Tb. cornstarch right at the last & just heated until sauce thickened. I also used cooking sherry instead of wine. This was amazing! My husband doesn't like new dishes & he is usually meat & potatoes. I had a chicken breast & a whole other meal ready to cook him. He tasted this & said, "I think that's a meal in itself." I said it was supposed to be but I thought you wouldn't eat it. Did I mention he doesn't like anything with heat in it, like Rotel or he doesn't like noodles? He loved this & told me to put the chicken up, he was eating this. This will be a favorite of ours now. Thanks Al Fresco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggianne@me.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
DISCLAIMER- this review is based on the end result from the changes I made based on what I had on hand. This is not a review of the recipe as printed. My family LOVED this- first of all, we used Al Fresco's chicken sausage with garlic/roasted peppers as it was what was available. Second, instead of making the sauce, I used a jar sauce with the same ingredients as it was convenient. I added the cream as the recipe dictated and it was wonderful. Third, I used penne instead of linguine. The sauce tasted so good I wanted a pasta that would suck up the sauce. Lastly, I did not add wine. I was concerned it would not burn off in time for my kiddos. I cannot say enough about the Al Fresco chicken sausage. It was so good and there was only one serving left for my husband. I used an entire jar of tomato, garlic and onion spaghetti sauce as the base and with the cream added- it gave off an incredible smell. My kids were licking their plates and looking for more. Please do try this recipe either as posted or with my alterations. Either way.. I don't think you will be disappointed. The parm and the oregano seasoning at the end is truly crucial. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this recipe as given and I can only rate it 3 stars because it needs some tweaking. First of all, 2 minutes to saute 1 cup onions isn't long enough. Also the sauce is too thin and not enough for four servings. Plenty of sausage, just not enough sauce. It doesn't stick to the pasta but sits at the bottom of the bowl. I did however like the al fresco Italian Chicken Sausage as it has a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
As good as it looks! this was a BIG hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States