Grilled Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage with Tomato Cream Sauce Over Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made a few alterations based upon what I had on hand & to make it a little healthier: Substitute 1 15oz. can chicken broth for wine & 3tps whole wheat flour & milk with 3 tps fat free cream cheese for cream. I added a few veggies like green peppers & mushrooms to the dish. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I had to add a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce, but overall it ws a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was just okay. It was just too bitter even with the sweet sausage. I added 1/2 tsp basil which helped, but I think doubling the cream would be good. I didn't have any more so I added 3 TBS sour cream instead. I think that it's the red wine that pushes it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good but the sauce does need thickening... I drained my diced tomatoes and added a little tomato paste and cornstarch to thicken a bit. I also added just a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I opted for penne vs. linguine as that's what I had on hand. I garnished it with a little parsley, served it with garlic bread and a fresh garden salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My family, even my picky four-year-old loved it! I used chicken broth instead of wine, and added the parmesan to the sauce to aid in thickening. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREESERFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I used the tomato basil chicken sausage and we really enjoyed this. I will make this again as a regular rotation. It was good even with out the sausage. Everyone in our house asked for this again so thats 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is really 3.5 stars:) We liked it but we didn't love it. The wine really did give it good flavor. And we really like the chicken sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I also used the chicken broth in place of the wine. The wine would have given it a much richer flavor. The sauce was way to thin, but you could use cornstarch to thicken it. Overall, it was good flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
YUMMY! This was absolutely perfect!!!! I didn't use the suggested sausage, I used one from Whole Foods, with feta and artichokes in it. I added mushrooms and everything else left the same. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was really tasty. I did have to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had on hand. 1/2 jar of spaghetti sauce for the diced tomatoes and plain old milk for the cream. Used chianti for the red wine. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States