Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This tasted even better than my mother-in-law's Greek Meatballs (which follows a very similar format), and I think the addition of the molasses and cilantro is what did it! Extremely flavorful. Will definitely make again in a heartbeat! Two substitutions: 1) to make the burgers stretch, we added one egg and 3/4 cup bread crumbs. 2) We didn't have feta or pita bread, so we served it on grilled garlic toast (butter both sides of bread, sprinkle with garlic powder, and grill til crisp)--DELICIOUS and highly recommended substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was delicious! I subbed a tbs brown sugar for the molasses, and a splash of red wine for the sherry, and the burgers turned out perfectly. Great flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great alternative to your average burger. I made this for my boyfriend and he and I both loved them. The only thing I changed was to leave out the mint... Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gvallin3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I thought this recipe was delicious. I followed it but stuffed the burgers with Alouette sun-dried tomato cheese spread. It was great. The Alouette cheese kept the burgers extremely moist and added extra flavor that complimented the spices in the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejdev

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Excellent lamb burgers! I grew up eating lamb, and this is my favorite lamb burger recipe I've ever had. I used dry oregano (cut in half). I also put sliced cucumbers and plain yogurt on the bun. Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I served this during one of our crazy roof deck parties this year. OMG!!! Delicious!!! Everyone at the party goobled them down quickly. We made them into sliders and we couldn't keep up with the demand. The only thing we replaced was the pita, we opted for regular burger buns instead. Next time I will try the same ingridients on ground beef or pork. The price for lamb here in NY is a killer! Nevertheless, I don't regret spending the money since everyone enjoyed the dish!! Thanks Alan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
wow,this was excellent. I love lamb and was looking for an interesting change to the standard beef burger. The seasonings really go together. It is perfect as is. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I love gyros but this was too much lamb for me. Would have been better with some beef mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Holy lamb! I made these for my family and neighbors and they gobbled them up. I used all fresh herbs from my herb garden and lamb from the farmer's market, so it could not get any fresher. Everyone raved that the flavor was better than any gyro they had ever had. The only thing I did differently was used 1 t. of cider vinegar instead of a t. of white wine vinegar and a t. of sherry as I did not have either. I think as long as there is a little acid, all is well. I also put the feta in the meat instead of on top. I paired it with the tzatzikiII recipe from this site which really complemented the meat well. We highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Awesome. I have never bothered to rate an online recipe before, but this was so yummy that I just had to. Having just moved to New Zealand, I am always on the look out for good lamb recipes. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States