Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I made so many substitutions to this recipe to fit what I had on-hand, that I'm not sure this review counts, but here goes. I used chopped lamb loin instead of ground lamb, used light corn syrup instead of molasses, omitted the allspice and sherry, and used a lot more vinegar. I then marinated the lamb with some whole roma tomatoes in the mixture for about 1 hr, then cooked it kabob style on the grill. I put the tomatoes and the lamb in the pita shells with some feta cheese. It was very tangy with a kick. We loved it. I'd like to try this again with ground lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
We love our food highly seasoned, and these were wonderful for our first meal from the 4-H market lamb that we had just picked up from the butcher! These will become a must-have in our home! Served with tzatziki sauce, they were stupendous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Ooh so goood! Made it exactly as written, I didn't find it to be dry at all (and I'm one to usually overcook things on the grill!). Served it with tzaziki (?sp) by Jolie, perfect to balance the spiciness, and a Greek salad. Red wine to drink, and what a satifying meal! Thanks, Alan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This recipe is GREAT!! Had to sub ground pork as no lamb was available, but changed nothing else in the burgers. Added homemade tzaziki to the pita with the feta... my husband, who was expecting "a hamburger on a bun" RAVED... and said "make this again... but try to find the lamb so we can compare!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Fabulous flavor. I wouldn't change a thing to the recipe for the burgers. Even when cooked all the way through the meat was so tender and juicy. The only thing I did differently was I made some homemade tzaziki yogurt sauce and added a spoonful or two of that to the burger and feta in the grilled pita pocket. This will be a new favorite for the grill! Thanks Alan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
These were fantastic - even with the variety of substitutions I had to make (7 mos pregnant and not keen on the idea of a special trip to the store). I substituted fresh thyme and rosemary for the cilantro and mint, honey for the molasses, a good squeeze of lemon juice as I was going for a Greek flavour. The mix was a bit dry so I added a beaten egg and a handful of breadcrumbs and they were delicious! Can't wait to try the original recipe. Thanks Alan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
These burgers turned out really good. My husband makes his own version that is very similar to this recipe (using a little of this and that)...and I wanted to replicate it. Suprisingly enough, this came very close to his. I used dry herbs and threw in some cilantro and green onions. I used a bit more salt than what the recipe called for and used ground pork rather than lamb. I've never cooked with lamb before...simply because I never see it at our grocery store. I was given several compliments and plan on making this again. Thanks for sharing Alan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!! I raise sheep, so always have lots of lamb on hand and I am always looking for good lamb recipes. This one is great. I didn't have any fresh mint, so used 3 mint tea bags (make sure it has no additives) also, I had no sherry or wine so used angastura bitters. This lamb burger was so tasty and did hold together well. My family gave it 5 stars, even the kids. Will serve this often this coming summer. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Excellent! Based on the other reviews, I doubled the recipe, and I'm glad I did. I love grilled lamb, and I'll make this one again. I didn't have sherry. I used some white wine instead. I happened to have pomegranate molasses, so I used that instead. Goes great with salad and wine. If you like grilled lamb, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Loved these! They were AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States