Grilled Spiced Chicken with Caribbean Citrus-Mango Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made it with tofu, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Best chicken I've had in a very long time. I did rework the spices a bit...1/2 t of ginger, 1 t of cinnamon and cumin, no anise, 1 t of cayenne for the rub. Rubbed the mix on the whole butterflied chicken and left it in the fridge for about 4 hours only because I had other stuff to do. Got the grill going and put the chicken on. For the mango salsa, I used 2 mangoes, hand squeezed OJ of 2 oranges and 1 whole fresh lime, 2 T honey, jazzed it up with some pepper flakes and 3 Thai whole peppers, cornstarch/H2O, w/2 T of Capt'n Morgan Lime infused light Rum and let that simmer on the stove while the chicken was cooking. Also, had half of a baked potato instead of the rice, home grown spinach salad! Only had chicken this good one other time in my life! WILL be doing this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I thought this would be so much better than it came out. The only thing I changed was I baked my breasts instead of grilling and I had to cook the sauce longer after adding the rum. It was just too harsh raw. Overall the flavor and balance was just lacking, mabye some salt and smokey spice would help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was delicious. I would double the rub and add a little salt next time. I left out the anise from the rub because I'm not a fan of that flavor. I also didn't have dark rum, so substituted spiced rum and a touch of molasses for the Mango sauce. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I tried this for a small party and the compliments did fly. My daughter insisted on copying the recipe onto a card and placing it in the "Must do again" section of my recipe box. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was excellent. I made a few changes, I used Gold Rum instead of Dark Rum, chicken thighs and drumsticks, and brown rice. Also, I did not have anise. I think I would use chicken breast next time just because it is easier to eat. My husband liked it and he doesn't usually like fruity sauces on his meat. This is a keeper, I think I will make it for my Bunco group! I really enjoyed the fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I did not make this entire recipe, I only used the spice blend for the chicken, as I had already made a fresh mango/avocado relish. The combination of flavors was perfect. I served the chicken over rice and then topped it with my (uncooked) relish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very tasty! As I hadn't planned ahead and shopped on the same day that I was cooking this recipe when I got to the grocery store all the mangos were unripe. I substituted frozen mango and it was excellent. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
my super picky boyfriend LOVED this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was an especially delicious dish! The only thing I would change would be to add more spices to pump up the flavor of the chicken with maybe a marinade to brush on while grilling. Also, the mango wasn't quite ripe and I only had orange juice cocktail on hand, which might explain why the mango sauce didn't quite live up to my expectations. Next time I'll add something to give it more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerschmaker23
Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States