Grilled Spice Rubbed Chicken Breasts with Alabama BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This intrigued me since I don’t think I’ve ever had a mayonnaise based BBQ sauce, so I decided to try it out. I immediately thought a full cup of mayonnaise was excessive (although this is a Hellmann’s recipe), so I cut the sauce ingredients in half for four chicken breasts and had plenty. I didn’t have the Bobby Flay spice rub, so I used the seasoning blend in Sarah’s Dry Rubbed Chicken recipe here on AR, which turned out to be an excellent choice. I did season both sides of the chicken early in the day and refrigerated them until it was time to grill. This was good and I’m glad I tried it, but I don’t think it will become a favorite of ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Wow - this was excellent, and a really nice departure from the more "traditional" bbq chicken. Since I didn't have Bobby Flay's Sixteen Spice Rub, I used "All-Around Spice Rub" by Fight the Fat Foodie as my base and added some ancho chile powder, cumin, coriander, ginger, allspice, cinnamon, cloves, and ground fennel. I pounded my chicken down thin and dried it with a paper towel then coated both sides of the chicken with the spice rub. (no oil needed) I let that set for a few hours in the fridge. For the sauce I lightened it up with Hellman's light mayonnaise and used a good quality horseradish. This turned out fabulous with a wonderful combination of flavors. You get a bit of sweet and spicy from the rub and the sauce seals in the moisture while grilling. Plus it does make a great dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Most tender chicken I've cooked. Sauce was simple to make and had good taste. Used Emeril's Chicken Rub since the other wasn't available at the local store. Added a little additional Cayenne Pepper and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This chicken was moist and delicious! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was very good. I would recommend using slghtly less vinegar than what the recipe calls for. The sauce was a little too tangy for me, but otherwise very good. Chicken was super tender and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I omitted the horseradish due to personal taste, and this was one of the best chicken dishes I've ever had. Hours later after dinner I was still saying 'that chicken was delicious!'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I don't like traditional Texas bbq chicken, so I thought this might be a good alternative. I've never heard of a mayo-based bbq sauce, but it was surprisingly good *AND* it honestly kept the chicken very tender on the grill. I used low-fat mayo, but didn't change anything else...*MAYBE* added a bit more cayenne than it called for. I grilled at a pretty high heat and used the rub on both sides of the meat...it seemed weird to just put in on one side. It didn't take long. Definitely cover and wait before you cut into it. I served this with roasted potatoes and a green salad and it was a quick, easy, tasty summer meal. I only used three breasts and have a lot leftover. I'm going to make sandwiches on hamburger buns with the leftover sauce as mayo for lunch tomorrow. Should be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Amazing! We didn't have any of Bobby Flay's Spice Rub, so we used our own. The Alabama Barbecue Sauce makes the chicken so flavorful and moist. We will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States