Grilled Shrimp and Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I've never disliked a recipe on this site so this is totally a first for me! The sauce wouldn't thicken at all and the spices just didn't taste well together. Admittedly it might have been my spices, but I don't think so. I ended up cutting up the chicken and frying it, adding flour when it was no longer pink. That let me add chicken broth which thickened up nicely with a little bit of cream. I used the chicken broth so it wouldn't be so rich. Add in the shrimp and it wasn't so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Reasonable but not great. Fails as a quick-dinner for me because I don't feel shrimp in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was soooo good! I did double all the spices but the garlic powder. I also added 1 clove of garlic and about 3/4 of a cup of diced onion in with the chicken and I also added about 1/3 of a cup of parmesan cheese to the sauce at the very end. I made these changes because we like a lot of flavor in our food, not because I think the recipe was lacking in any way. Thank you for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was great! I did listen to the other reviewers and added 1 1/2 T. of cornstarch, doubled the sauce, and cooked the shrimp in with the chicken. I also exchanged chicken broth for the wine and it was still fabulous! I forgot to split the spices up differently after I doubled the spices--the sauce was a little bland and the meat a little spicy but that was my fault. The hubby and the in-laws all loved it! Also steamed some broccoli and mixed it in and served with garlic bread. Great tasting recipe and it's really simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas Center, Iowa, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Sorry, just wasn't for us. I thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
WOW - I just had family over and made this on a whim . . . I didn't have heavy cream so I had to sub milk/butter and I did had cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. It was really good - but next time I'll double the sauce, I had lots of past left over, no chicken, a little bit of shrimp, but no sauce and we all could have used a little more with our meals. This was really good and I'll def keep this on my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was GREAT! I did have some modifications. I saw that most reviewers were not happy with the sauce b/c it was too thin. I added about a table spoon and a half of corn starch to thicken it up. It really helped. Be sure to stir it well thought to get out all the chunks. I also doubled the amount of cayenne pepper b/c I really like spice food. It made the dish have a nice zing to it. If you've ever had spicy chicken and shrimp at a restaurant...this tastes just like it. I also chopped up the chicken as recommended by other reviewers. I didn't want to go through the hassle of grilling the shrimp so I cooked it along with my cubed chicken and it turned out great like that. It gives the shrimp a chance to cook in the wine and olive oil to soak up the flavors too. This is a great meal for the whole family. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Excellent recipe that the whole family enjoyed. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This recipe went down very well. It was a meal the whole family enjoyed. I switched the poultry seasoning for cajun seasoning and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
very good flavor, but sauce does come out a little thin. next time i will add some fresh sliced tomatoes while sauteeing chicken for a little color and variety...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States