Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Oh My Gosh!!! Too die for!!Simply delicious. Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the strawberry jam. I didn't have so I used raspberry jam. Served with wild brown rice & salad. Definitely will use this recipe again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
GREAT shrimp! I pretty much followed the recipe except I made a little more of the marinade by adding a bit more of this and that accordingly and I also added salt to taste, and I used 2 lbs of frozen uncooked large white shrimp that were peeled & deveined. I thawed them in cool water, tossed with the marinade & made the rest of dinner. Threw them on the 'barbie' and they were perfect. Only use fresh basil please, and double the basil amount. YUM!!!! I also made them again about a week later and I sauteed' them in a hot skillet over the stove. They were great! Cokking them this way only took about 2 minutes, and I seared them along with the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I made this recipe last night. My only substitution was homemade sangria jelly for the strawberry jam. It was fabulous. The apples were nicely carmalized and the shrimp had an awesome flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I tried this recipe and found it scrumptous. I had a side of baked asparagus with it. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Case31

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakeport, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I didn't change anything about this recipe except to use hubby's homemade, roasted pepper hot sauce instead of red pepper flakes & to double the marinade, reserving half. I plated the spears, after grilling, on a bed of grilled asparagus spears & drizzled the skewers & the asparagus w/ the reserved marinade. You're going to need extra sauce to drizzle on the skewers (they weren't nearly as flavorful w/out it) so you might as well grill up some asparagus, because it's wonderful on it as well. I started the meal off w/ grilled, prosciutto-wrapped figs w/ a balsamic reduction, Sweet Seductions (a drink recipe from allrecipes), the shrimp & apple skewers & asparagus & grilled corn (kept it very simple...just added butter & salt after grilling. The buttery/salty flavor was a great complement to the sweet/tangy flavor of the shrimp & apples). Homemade spritz cookies for dessert. We were still raving about dinner over coffee this morning! Thansk for an outstanding recipe, MOONROZE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Loved this recipe...I also followed it closely but subsituted orange vinegar for the red wine vinegar and left the shells on the shrimp to reduce the chance of 'over-grilling'. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great recipe! My husband and I make this whenever we have company. I have used both lemon juice, and lime juice, and both turned out great. Very simple, delicious, and looks nice for company. Definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wow, phenomenal! I marinaded the shrimp for about 1.5 hours- omitting the sugar and using fresh raspberries and whole fruit preserves. I served my kids and went into the house to grab the salad. By the time I returned to the outside table, my 2-year old son had already eaten an entire skewer of shrimp and apples. He begged for more! Definitely use this again and again! Goes great with fresh salad, berries, and spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjdavis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These shrimp were so tasty! I don't like hot fruit, so I did not use the apples on the skewers, but didn't want to lose out on the apple flavor, so I added 1.5 T. of applesauce to the marinade (apple juice works, too), and used brown sugar instead of white. Let the shrimp marinate 2 hours, threaded them onto skewers, boiled the marinade 3 minutes to use for basting, and they were out of this world! I served them with garlic butter rice and sauteed zucchini.... delicious, delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
this is a quick and easy recipe and a great idea for a different take on shrimp on the BBQ - this was a huge hit at our last BBQ - thanks! I plan to make this over and over again this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States