Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These shrimp were so tasty! I don't like hot fruit, so I did not use the apples on the skewers, but didn't want to lose out on the apple flavor, so I added 1.5 T. of applesauce to the marinade (apple juice works, too), and used brown sugar instead of white. Let the shrimp marinate 2 hours, threaded them onto skewers, boiled the marinade 3 minutes to use for basting, and they were out of this world! I served them with garlic butter rice and sauteed zucchini.... delicious, delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
GREAT shrimp! I pretty much followed the recipe except I made a little more of the marinade by adding a bit more of this and that accordingly and I also added salt to taste, and I used 2 lbs of frozen uncooked large white shrimp that were peeled & deveined. I thawed them in cool water, tossed with the marinade & made the rest of dinner. Threw them on the 'barbie' and they were perfect. Only use fresh basil please, and double the basil amount. YUM!!!! I also made them again about a week later and I sauteed' them in a hot skillet over the stove. They were great! Cokking them this way only took about 2 minutes, and I seared them along with the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I didn't change anything about this recipe except to use hubby's homemade, roasted pepper hot sauce instead of red pepper flakes & to double the marinade, reserving half. I plated the spears, after grilling, on a bed of grilled asparagus spears & drizzled the skewers & the asparagus w/ the reserved marinade. You're going to need extra sauce to drizzle on the skewers (they weren't nearly as flavorful w/out it) so you might as well grill up some asparagus, because it's wonderful on it as well. I started the meal off w/ grilled, prosciutto-wrapped figs w/ a balsamic reduction, Sweet Seductions (a drink recipe from allrecipes), the shrimp & apple skewers & asparagus & grilled corn (kept it very simple...just added butter & salt after grilling. The buttery/salty flavor was a great complement to the sweet/tangy flavor of the shrimp & apples). Homemade spritz cookies for dessert. We were still raving about dinner over coffee this morning! Thansk for an outstanding recipe, MOONROZE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wow, phenomenal! I marinaded the shrimp for about 1.5 hours- omitting the sugar and using fresh raspberries and whole fruit preserves. I served my kids and went into the house to grab the salad. By the time I returned to the outside table, my 2-year old son had already eaten an entire skewer of shrimp and apples. He begged for more! Definitely use this again and again! Goes great with fresh salad, berries, and spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjdavis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I think this is one of the best things I have ever cooked on allrecipes. I did this for a get together I had in my back yard. I also did another recipe for shrimp skewers that had zucchini and onions on them. Those were good, but couldn't compare to these and since we didn't have enough, everybody was fighting over these! Things I changed: I let them marinate for a lot longer, like 2-3 hours. And I doubled the marinade recipe, I had huge shrimp, and I usually always end up doubling it any recipe that has a marinade. Good thing I did or it wouldn't have been enough. One last thing, we added pineapple because we happened to have a bunch in the fridge and I knew it would be good, and it was. I think the amount was around 2 cups, but I can't be sure...about as much as the apple amount. You need to add pineapples to this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great recipe! My husband and I make this whenever we have company. I have used both lemon juice, and lime juice, and both turned out great. Very simple, delicious, and looks nice for company. Definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Loved this recipe...I also followed it closely but subsituted orange vinegar for the red wine vinegar and left the shells on the shrimp to reduce the chance of 'over-grilling'. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
The shrimp had a WONDERFUL flavor but the apples all broke off the skewers as they cooked on the grill. Next time I'm going to grate apple into the marinade for the flavor but omit it from the skewers, leaving only shrimp. Then serve with a great salad and egg potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Oh My Gosh!!! Too die for!!Simply delicious. Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the strawberry jam. I didn't have so I used raspberry jam. Served with wild brown rice & salad. Definitely will use this recipe again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is one of the best marinades that I have ever had on shrimp. the combination of sweet and spicy really make this shine. I've done this with chicken, scallops and shrimp. Everyone that has tried this keeps telling me I have to give them the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States