Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
My wife and two grown sons went nuts over this recipe! It was easy to throw together on a work night when the boys came over. Apple slices tended to split when skewered, so maybe use a variety that's less crisp. I thought the recipe might be a bit spicy but used the recommended amount of chili pepper and it was not at all. Here's a "green" tip - marinate in a reusable plastic container instead of a bag. Worked fine and can be washed and reused. Next time I plan to try this in my smoker. The apple might be very good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackinthewoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Didn't think this recipe was something to save. The apples seemed under baked by the time the shrimp was perfect. Tried recipe as was written with just one skewer before tweaking. Needed more spices for me. Marinated uncooked shrimp in seasoning 24 hours and it seemed better but still nothing to go on and on about. Sorry. Still, I can see how some would enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
FABULOUS! I used chipotle powder instead of red pepper flake which really complimented the strawberry. Marinated it for 2 hours and doubled the sauce as suggested by previous members which was a fabulous idea. We decided to serve the skewers elegantly over spinach greens and thinly sliced red onion which was delicious. The extra marinate was then used as the dressing. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is surprisingly really tasty. Who would have thought to use strawberry jam and shrimp? I marinated the shrimp for about 24 hours and after grilling, they had a wonderful slightly sweet flavor. I'm not a fan of Gala apples so I used red delicious and it was still really delicious. The only mistake I made was using shrimp with the shells on (whoops!). Definitely try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Really tasty! I omitted the sugar and added a bit more dhili flakes...Next time,I'll grill apples separately for a little longer so they have a chance to carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I've made these twice in the last couple weeks because it's so good. I would've never thought that apples and shrimp would go together, but this recipe kicks butt! My husband hates most fruit, and he ate all his apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe. Substituted orange marmalade for the strawberry jam b/c I had it on hand and thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gummibunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Fantastic! I would've never thought to pair shrimp and apples but wow! Will eat again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
YUM. I used homemade strawberry0balsamic jam, dried basil (2 tsps.), garlic powder and apple cider vinegar as subs for the ones listed. Everything else was used/made as-is. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States