Grilled Shrimp Caprese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I made this recipe for the weekly recipe group selection. I followed the recipe as written except for using 1 1/2 pound of shrimp and took the advice of previous reviews to just top with the mozzarella cheese. The shrimp marinade is excellent and could be used alone for anytime you want to grill shrimp, I did marinate it a couple of hours. The sauce was also good without the mozzarella cheese, seemed thin but once the tomatoes and noodles added it was just right. We enjoyed this dish and will probably make it again. We grilled some zucchini and that was so good mixed in with this dish, that I might make that way next time. The reason for four stars is the order of the directions will have you in a real mess. The shrimp was the last thing we cooked and thanks to another review I had everything ready including the sauce. So we weren't scurrying around the kitchen trying to hurry everything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is one of those recipes that must be eaten immediately. As soon as it starts to cool the cheese solidifies making it sticky and rather difficult to plate / eat. I think that just a sprinkle of mozzarella on the top of each serving would be sufficient. It would also help to have one person grilling and the other making the rest of the dish. Shrimp cooks very fast and cannot be left alone - the sauce etc.... needs attention too, making this recipe was like a race. If making this for company, I would make the sauce in advance and keep in warm in a double boiler or enlist the help of someone you can trust to grill the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
YUMMY! I used Dry Sherry Had no wine. Very tasty I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I have not tried it yet, but after reading another recipe for a Roasted Tomato Caprese Salad, I wonder how the Romas would taste if you roast them for 3 hours at 225 degrees and then put them in the dish. Roasting will bring out more flavor in the Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...This was delicious, but I did make some changes...I did not use the Italian seasoning or salt, as I felt the Italian seasnoning would be too much for us, and I actually forgot to add the salt, lol, but the finished dish ended up not needing it anyway. I just topped each serving w/ some shredded mozzarella instead of adding it to the sauce after reading the other reviews, and for the fact that I have no luck adding shredded cheeses to sauces, they always end up clumpy and stringy for me. Oh also, hubby is not a fan of angel hair, so I used spaghetti. I LOVED the addition of the wine in the alfredo sauce! The shrimp had fantastic flavor, and I would totally just make shrimp like that even if I was not making this pasta. I did allow my shrimp to marinate about 5 hours or so. All in all this was very flavorful, and I will def be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this tonight and we both liked it very much. I used half & half and the sauce was just fine. I halved the mozzarella and was glad I did. I had pre-cooked shrimp, so I quickly heated it in a very hot skillet, not adding any oil. Will make this again, and will also try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Liked the taste but felt there was way too much mozzarella as the pasta was sticking to the cheese in clumps. Might try with less mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I try new recipes all the time and it's not that often that I'm excited to rush back to the computer to write a review. This dish is excellent!! I agree with others that the order of the directions are out of whack and they should be done in this sequence.... 1,4,5,2,3. Broiling the shrimp in the oven was a great alternative to grilling (since we were out of propane). Besides being able to leave it in the pan that it was marinating in, you don't lose any of the small tasty bits under the broiler (chopped basil leaves, garlic). That can all be saved and scraped into the sauce. Like others, I also only put the mozz cheese on top at the end. I then shoved then entire pan under the broiler again for 5 minutes to melt and brown that cheese. Just AMAZING! Even my husband (who is not into white cream sauces) really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
The flavor is terrific, however the prep time is misleading. Shrimp only need an hour or so to marinate, so pre-prep the shrimp by pealing, cleaning & deveining, the night before you plan to serve? Put aside until next day in the refrigerator. Also make up the marinade the night before & keep separate in refrigerator until next afternoon. marinate for one hour or so. Since Shrimp only need an hour or so to marinate, & just a minute or so to cook, so be sure to have pasta almost perfectly cooked,& drained just right, seconds before you plan to plate & serve the fisnished meal. As far as the problems with cheese becoming gloppy, remember the adage when working with cheese, heat it "slow & at LOW temperature, so cool freshly plated dishes, with cheese doesn't get too quickly hot. HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellejaeque
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I grilled the shrimp in the oven (broiled for about 5 minutes, turning shrimp on bamboo skewers once). I also cooked the shrimp LAST while the sauce was simmering, as many other reviewers recommended. I omitted the 2 cups of mozzarella and we simply added some to each of our bowls. It was very delicious with the tang of the white wine and tomatoes with the creamy sauce and flavorful basil and garlic shrimp. Even Optimus Prime approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States