Grilled Scallop Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this just as it is printed. It came out fantastic. A very light but fullfilling dinner. The scallops of course take on a bronze color due to the soy, but are very tender and sweet. Will definately add this to our dinner menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOKEATER3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I like salads that are just a little bit different - not weird or unusual, just a little more creative than the same old, uninspired garden salad. This appealed to me - except for the walnuts and Romano cheese, so I didn't use either. (Scallops and Romano is not a winning combo in my view, and the walnuts didn't seem to belong either) The soy sauce marinade was barely noticeable, which I'm sure Hubs, who generally doesn't care for marinated anything, appreciated. I liked the fact that a lot of the prep could be done in advance - the bacon, mushrooms and asparagus all were cooked and ready to go once it came time to assemble the salad. I felt that a balsamic dressing would be too heavy for the delicate scallops so I used a lighter, lemon vinaigrette instead. The combination of of the Bibb and red leaf lettuces was really very nice - pretty as well as tasty. I didn't grill this salad, however - I sauteed the mushrooms on the stovetop and pan seared the scallops as well. Stunning dinner salad, which I served with Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup, recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I wasn't super fond of this salad and won't be making it again. I really did not like the flavor of the the soy sauce/oil marinade for the scallops. And I didn't like that most of the salad items had to be prepared before tossing into the salad (blanching the asparagus, roasted the walnuts, cooking the bacon, and grilling the mushrooms). my husband thought it was an OK salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Excellent salad! Flavor was wonderful -- easy -- good presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This recipe is crazy good! The weather didn't permit me to use my grill, so I just cooked the scallops and mushrooms on my stovetop. I didn't even use any oil or anything with the mushrooms, and it was delicious. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This salad was fantastic. Full of flavor, great textures, and nutrients. We count calories and eat pretty light in our household so I skipped the olive oil/soy sauce marinade and grilled the scallops with just a little Pam and salt & pepper. The family couldn't get enough of it. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe was excellent!! I used turkey bacon instead and it still came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was fantastic! Loved loved loved it. I left out the asparagus (didn't have any). Even DH who does not care for seafood said this was really good. I will so be making this one again. A nice refreshing meal for a hot summer night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is a fabulous salad! It's easy to make but looks impressive on the plate plus it tastes delicious. I will definately make this salad again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
WOW...my new favorite salad! I made a few substitutions (because of what was available to me). The store only had bay scallops so I used those and just added a few more to the quantity. Since I was scaling the recipe for one I didn't want to turn on the grill. I just broiled the mushrooms and scallops in the oven for about 10 minutes. I also don't have a toaster oven so I just broiled the walnuts for about 3 minutes and I used a bag of mixed baby lettuces since I had it on hand. I made a balsamic vinaigrette dressing from this site a few days ago and used that. The flavors from all the ingredients blended so nicely together. I should have made more because my daughter's boyfriend smelled it cooking and I ended up having to share it with him. He had already eaten too! :) The olive oil and soy sauce gave the scallops such a nice flavor. The salad looked beautiful too. This is a great choice to make when having a friend over for a light healthy lunch. Thanks for sharing! I might just have to run back out to the store tomorrow for some more scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States