Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was something very fun and different to try with salmon. I took special care to reduce the sauce to the proper consistency and allow the vinegar to mellow and let the blueberries come through--which they did. Though the sauce was delicious and I would definitely try it again, it did seem to be lacking a bit of body. The flavor pops on the top of the palate, but then dissipates pretty quickly with little to savor... not sure how to remedy that but it is a problem I wouldn't mind solving. Served with grilled zucchini and corn on the cob and homemade baking powder biscuits. The roommates loved the sauce on the biscuits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is an absolutely fantastic combination for people who like a sweet/tart/savory combination of flavours. When I made this I took special care to reduce the sauce until it was thicker than the recipe calls for and was very happy. Highly recommend using a quality piece of sockeye or coho, as the richness and flavour of those two really come out with the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Wonderful blueberry sauce that is delightful on many meats. I paired it with steamed cod (simply steamed with butter, salt and pepper). I reduced the balsamic vinegar to a splash or so and used maple syrup instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is delicious if you make the following changes in preparation: Saute a couple of shallots in olive oil and then add a little garlic for a minute longer. Then de-glaze the pan with a little of the balsamic vinegar. Add remaining ingredients including whole blueberries and simmer for 1-2 hours or until reduced and thick. The sauce is almost better on pork tenderloin but the salmon is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
The sauce was not good at all!! the chix stock made the berries taste super salty. and the balsamic was overpowering! I ended up just slicing the berries with water & honey & heating it up.. MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Delicious!! I never would have thought that salmon and blueberries would go so well together. I will definitely be making this recipes frequently this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Amazing! I tend to stick to my own marinade for salmon and have never found anything that measures up. Well, here it is. The hearty sauce complements the strong texture of the salmon well. I couldn't get enough! Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for a great alternative recipe for salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Did like. Followed recipe and didn't turn out. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNASCOMET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
We thought this was a fantastic recipe. Please note: you must reduce the sauce once you've added the balsamic vinegar by letting it simmer. Otherwise it will taste like vinegar. Balsamic vinegar reduction has a wonderfully sweet and flavorful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
It was easy and it was OKAY. Might make it again might not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States