Grilled Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2004
A great recipe, easy, fast, elegant, incredibly tasty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
A truly wonderful salad. Great for those warm summer days when you are grilling out, etc. Try this recipe, you'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This is awesome. I made this for a casual dinner party for 10, tripled the recipe and had no left overs! My guests couldn't wait to get the recipe. I've served it with and without the oven-dried tomatoes. I had more than 1/2 the oil left over from the tomtoes, so I use 1/2 as much now - cuts down on the fat content also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Our family loves this recipe. The tomatoes aren't worth the bother. Fresh grape/cherry tomatoes are better and more flavorful. The dressing is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Good dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This salad was delightful and made a wonderful presentation. Who ever said the tomatoes weren't worth the time is drastically WRONG. They are amazing.Although the dressing is thick, it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Thanks Jennifer--I love everything about this salad. Rarely do I stick to a recipe without changing it to suit my family's taste, but this one is a winner as is! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This salad is wonderful with a small grilled filet mignon. I like to slice the steak and add it across the top. We also like it with a little parmasen cheese with crumbled garlic croutons. The dressing is very good. We don't use sugar, but sugar substitute (your choice) to help with my diabetic husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I didn't do the tomato part of this recipe because most of the family doesn't like roasted tomatoes unless I make soup with them. I had sundried tomatos if anyone really wanted them. I've never had grilled romaine before and this was a really tasty and different way to do a common vegetable. I cut the hearts in half lengthwise but I made the mistake of cutting off the hard end first and should have left it on so it would hold the heart together better on the grill. No matter, it still turned out great but my poor husband was chasing romaine leaves all over the grill. I brushed the hearts with EVOO and freshly ground sea salt and black pepper. It was all I could do to keep from eating them before they hit the grill! The dressing was very easy, thicker than I thought it would be but probably because I used a little less olive oil than called for. It was very good and I love the balsamic and shallot flavor in dressings. It made a lot more than I would put on a single salad so, I have plenty left to use on other salads. My son dipped his grilled chicken in the dressing and thought that was good. It would probably make an excellent marinade too. I'll be grilling more romaine in the future, it's a nice alternative to regular old salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Amazing. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States