Grilled Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I made this salad for New Year's eve. It was a big hit. Everyone thought the idea of grilling the romaine was very strange, and I was pretty hesitant myself. It turned out wonderful and I have made it a few times since. It is a bit complicated considering it is a salad but well worth it. I also topped it with sime sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This is awesome. I made this for a casual dinner party for 10, tripled the recipe and had no left overs! My guests couldn't wait to get the recipe. I've served it with and without the oven-dried tomatoes. I had more than 1/2 the oil left over from the tomtoes, so I use 1/2 as much now - cuts down on the fat content also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This salad is wonderful with a small grilled filet mignon. I like to slice the steak and add it across the top. We also like it with a little parmasen cheese with crumbled garlic croutons. The dressing is very good. We don't use sugar, but sugar substitute (your choice) to help with my diabetic husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I did not like the grilled romaine lettuce (and neither did any of my guests) but I must keep the recipe in my file because the dressing is DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is simply the best salad I have ever eaten. I can't get enough of it. I personally omit all of the sugar as I find the balsamic sweet enough. I would give this a 10 if I could...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Something delicious and new! Really - if you enjoy salad, try this! I didn't have olive oil, so I rubbed a little butter, salt and pepper on the halves. Sinful, but amazing! I served the grilled romaine with garden fresh tomatoes and mom's old dressing mixture of ketchup and mayo drizzled lightly over the top. Perfect side for a grilled dinner. Trust me... this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I tried grilled romaine hearts at a restaurant and loved it so much I had to make it at home! I didn't use shallots for the vinaigrette - i just made a simple 2:1 balsamic vinaigrette with added honey, a little lemon juice, garlic, and italian seasoning. I topped the hearts feta cheese and red onion. I know this isn't the recipe but I still wanted to put up a review. Also, I don't find it necessary to put the olive oil on the lettuce before grilling - it's just added calories, the lettuce is fine on it's own. A lot of the bitterness in the thicker parts of the leaves go away with cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Amazing. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
A great recipe, easy, fast, elegant, incredibly tasty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
A bit of work for a salad, but excellent and worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States