Grilled Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
my boyfriend was looking at me very strange when i was grilling the romaine on the grill last night... but, the end result was quite delicious. although, he did say, "it tastes like the lettuce on a burger on the grill." ha. the dressing I thought was fantastic. I didn't use anywhere near as much oil as the recipe called for. I also was short on time so i finished the tomatoes off on the grill after they were in the oven for maybe an hour. sprinkled with asiago cheese and served on a platter the presentation was quite nice - i wish i took a picture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
great! I used pam instead of olive oil. The dressing was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
We made this while camping, so we roasted the tomatoes in foil over the fire for 2 hours. I didn't have shallots available, so I substituted onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is simply the best salad I have ever eaten. I can't get enough of it. I personally omit all of the sugar as I find the balsamic sweet enough. I would give this a 10 if I could...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Is there anyway this is really 1200 calories and over 100 grams of fat per serving? I grilled the romaine and used a different dressing (only due to the nutrition factor), added fresh parm, croutons, toms. I've had a similar dish before and loved the dressing. I must look into this a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I didn't do the tomato part of this recipe because most of the family doesn't like roasted tomatoes unless I make soup with them. I had sundried tomatos if anyone really wanted them. I've never had grilled romaine before and this was a really tasty and different way to do a common vegetable. I cut the hearts in half lengthwise but I made the mistake of cutting off the hard end first and should have left it on so it would hold the heart together better on the grill. No matter, it still turned out great but my poor husband was chasing romaine leaves all over the grill. I brushed the hearts with EVOO and freshly ground sea salt and black pepper. It was all I could do to keep from eating them before they hit the grill! The dressing was very easy, thicker than I thought it would be but probably because I used a little less olive oil than called for. It was very good and I love the balsamic and shallot flavor in dressings. It made a lot more than I would put on a single salad so, I have plenty left to use on other salads. My son dipped his grilled chicken in the dressing and thought that was good. It would probably make an excellent marinade too. I'll be grilling more romaine in the future, it's a nice alternative to regular old salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Thanks Jennifer--I love everything about this salad. Rarely do I stick to a recipe without changing it to suit my family's taste, but this one is a winner as is! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This salad was delightful and made a wonderful presentation. Who ever said the tomatoes weren't worth the time is drastically WRONG. They are amazing.Although the dressing is thick, it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Good dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Our family loves this recipe. The tomatoes aren't worth the bother. Fresh grape/cherry tomatoes are better and more flavorful. The dressing is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States