Grilled Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The dressing was a bit too sweet for my taste, I prefer oil & vinegar with blue cheese crumbles. I also do not turn the romaine, just lay the cut side down and leave a very short time until it has grill marks. Turning or leaving it too long seems to take the crunch out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
aweful. the lettuce was wilted on the ouside and cold and crunchy inside, the overall taste was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Fantastic!! I had serious doubts, but went ahead with grilling the romaine and it was simply outstanding. My family loved it :) The slow roasted tomatoes were divine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I'm not a big lettuce fan, but this was pretty good! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it was there in spirit - instead of roasting my tomatoes, I added some chopped sun-dried tomatoes to my dressing, and I used a white balsamic vinegar with a splash of regular (for color). I grilled the lettuce for a scant 3 or 4 minutes. I though it would be too wilted, but it still had some crunch to it. I'll probably do this one again this week, as I have an abundance of romaine thanks to a buy one, get one free sale! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I tried grilled romaine hearts at a restaurant and loved it so much I had to make it at home! I didn't use shallots for the vinaigrette - i just made a simple 2:1 balsamic vinaigrette with added honey, a little lemon juice, garlic, and italian seasoning. I topped the hearts feta cheese and red onion. I know this isn't the recipe but I still wanted to put up a review. Also, I don't find it necessary to put the olive oil on the lettuce before grilling - it's just added calories, the lettuce is fine on it's own. A lot of the bitterness in the thicker parts of the leaves go away with cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Something delicious and new! Really - if you enjoy salad, try this! I didn't have olive oil, so I rubbed a little butter, salt and pepper on the halves. Sinful, but amazing! I served the grilled romaine with garden fresh tomatoes and mom's old dressing mixture of ketchup and mayo drizzled lightly over the top. Perfect side for a grilled dinner. Trust me... this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
The calorie count HAS TO BE wrong for this recipe. Sounds yummy, but I agree, way too much olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Oh, My!! This was outrageously good! Hubby and I loved it, but, the kids wouldn't eat it. :) It is really different, & not as time consuming as it reads. I did use fresh rosemary. The dressing made up a huge amount...next time I'll only make a half or less of the recipe. However, it won't go to waste, it's a wonderful dressing for other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I used fresh rosemary and thyme instead of dried and reduced the olive oil in the dressing by a whole cup and now I wouldn't change a thing! The dressing emulsified just fine with only 3/4 cup of olive oil. Try it -- you absolutely will not miss the extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States