Grilled Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
While this salad requires a little more prep than most, it is guaranteed to spark conversation at the dinner table. The slow roasted tomatoes are killer on their own; make sure to roast more than the required eight, you will *absolutely* crave them. And the dressing has just enough bite and sweetness, but a bit too much oil as listed (add just enough to emulisfy). Also, grilling only the cut side of the romaine hearts helps the lettuce retain its shape as well as some crunch. This made for a fun, unique starter course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent!! Didn't have all the ingredients (shallots) & didn't want the oven on to make the tomatoes (because it's too hot). Improvised with onions in the dressing & decreased the olive oil significantly. Family loved it!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was very good. It was nice to have something a little different. The oil in the dressing was a bit to much....so I dropped it to 3/4 of a cup and it was perfect! We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The tomatoes were excellent as was the dressing, which I will use on other salads. Husband couldn't say enough about the tomatoes, but didn't care for the romaine. As other reviewers mentioned, the amount of olive oil for the tomatoes was too much, but once I removed them from the oven and the oil was cool, I rubbed some of the excess oil on the romaine before grilling. EXCELLENT!! Thanks for sharing a really unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I had a similar salad at a nice restaurant when visiting Miami, and had always wanted to try this at home. This was very good. I cut down considerably on the olive oil in the recipe - I only used 1/4 cup for the roasted tomatoes (which were wonderful) and probably a 1/2 cup for the dressing (which was the best balsalmic dressing I've ever had). Otherwise I used the amounts called for. Also, the romaine definitely cannot stay on the grill over high heat for 5-10 minutes. I put it on, flipped it almost immediately, and took it off. Just enough to get a nice char on the leaves, but it was probably less than a minute or two total. Everyone enjoyed this salad, and one person even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was so simple and so delicious. I rubbed the romaine wiht olive oil and then made a bruschetta topping with plum tomatoes, red onion, basil and balsamic vinegar. We topped the grilled romaine with this and added some fresh grated parm cheese. My mom, dad and husband were hesitant about eating "cooked salad" but raved about it! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars based just on the tomatoes and dressing alone. The actual grilled romaine lettuce was just okay but based on the end result I wouldn't bother with that step next time. The tomatoes were to die for! I threw in a few garlic cloves and ended up mashing them up for the "great garlic bread" recipe on this site. The dressing was really good too. I added the juice of 1 lemon as I felt it needed more acid to balance out the oil in the recipe. Very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I haven't made the entire salad yet, but I did make the dressing. At first I thought it just OK, but after it sat for a day, it was better. It gets very thick, so on the third day I added a splash of red wine, to thin. We really like it, and two very picky older eaters thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This could be the best salad I've ever had. If it's not the best, it's certainly my new favorite. I took the advice of others and cut down on the olive oil in the dressing and used a good aged balsamic. Instead of brushing the romaine with plain olive oil, I used the mixture that the tomatoes were roasted in. I only grilled it for a few minutes and that's all it needed. This was truly delicious. I made it for Father's Day dinner and it was a huge hit at our table. It's so good that I'd like to give it more than 5 stars. I know I'll be making this again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
For now, I am only rating the dressing for this salad, although I plan to try the salad very soon. I made 1/2 the recipe of dressing and I used it on Balsamic Chicken and Fresh Mozzarella, also from this site, and it was delicious! I used 1 green onion because I didn't have a shallot, but otherwise followed the recipe. Remember when using balsamic vinegar, the better the balsamic, the sweeter it will be. So if your balsamic hasn't been aged very long and isn't as sweet, try adding a little brown sugar to taste. Really helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States