Grilled Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Made it almost xactly as recipe said, everyone loved it. Only thing I did differently was cut romaine hearts lengthwise, leaving stalk intact. Rubbed olive oil and salt and pepper on all sides and grilled on all sides and still stayed crisp. Didnt have shallots so used red onion instead...next time I hope to find and try with shallots. Also, next time I might add parmesan to the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I love the grilled romaine and the tomatoes are fantastic. I could eat the roasted tomatoes every day! I made the dressing according to the recipe with the exception of substituting zero calorie brown sugar sweetener. While the dressing tastes good, it is really strong and I was tasting it all night! In the middle of the night I had to get out of bed and gargle AGAIN to kill the shallot flavor. Still, the dressing was delicious and I will definitely make it again. Next time I will lessen the amount of shallots to one, and see if if that makes any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
All I can say is DO NOT substitute green onions in this recipe, or if you do then minimize the amount of green you use or it turns out WAY too bitter. I had to add a bit of honey and finally some strawberries to the food processor to try to combat the bitterness in the dressing. Not the fault of the recipe at all. I'll try it again with shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This salad is magical. But you HAVE to eat it fresh and RIGHT AWAY or the pixie demon magic will fade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I had never eaten grilled lettuce before, but boy is it yummy! I also grilled the tomatoes (on an indoor grill pan). I loved this salad! I would change the dressing though, too much vinegar covered up the rest of the flavors. I would cut that in half. Otherwise, yum num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonder Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
The dressing was perfect (not too tart). I used fresh tomatoes, feta cheese and real bacon bits. My company gave it a "10". Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Grilled lettuce......who thought this up? I used all the stated ingredients, but changed the cooking method for the tomatoes. I marinated the tomatoes in the spices, oil & sugar, but I grilled them rather than roasted to save on time. The dressing is tart, but we like the taste of balsamic vinegar. Put the grilled romaine, grilled tomatoes, and dressing together and you have a delicious, interesting salad. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
A good recipe and a nice twist on the basic salad. I didn't add the herbs or tomatoes to mine, but drizzled the basalmic vinegar glaze over the top and added toasted sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
amazing what the "char" does to the lettuce! amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I thought this recipe sounded interesting but it was not good & my husband said it loses all the nutritional value by cooking it. The only good part was the tomatoes, I did use that oil to marinate shrimp before putting on the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States