Grilled Rock Lobster Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Fabulous flavor! We highly recommend this sauce & the grilling method of cooking. For only two 5 oz. tails - half the size of the recipe's 10 ouncers! - I halved the sauce quantity, & then set aside about 2 Tblsp. of the sauce to use as a dip for the lobster meat, which was a very good & tasty idea. I usually replace any recipe's garlic powder with minced/pressed fresh garlic. In this case, I used 1/16th tsp. each of powder & fresh. Terrific! Lastly, I grilled the thawed tails flesh side-up first, so the basting sauce would stay in the shell, its flavor surrounding the flesh for the majority of the cooking time. Right before turning, it received another basting. Unfortunately I don't remember how many minutes the 5 ouncers took to grill, but it was close to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Good seasonings and perfect on the amount of time to cook the tails. I personally thought it tasted a little too much like olive oil, next time will probably substitute at least 1/2 of the oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe was excellent, I didn't use the paprika or white pepper which I'm actually glad I didn't. The lobster had a great grilled taste without really tasting the seasoning. We had never made lobster before, went to the grocery store and they had South African tails that were already butterflied so we bought those. My husband cut them off the shell and just cooked them directly on the grill. My first attempt to cook lobster turned out excellent, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Oh my this was AMAZING. No need for butter to dip it in, it had so much good flavor. We have never cooked lobster before, I cannot even tell you what kind of tails they were, just smallish ones from the local market on sale. I marinated the lobster tails in the marinade on their belly for a hour before we put them on the grill. I also realized after we cooked them that I needed to cut the underbelly down the middle and had forgotten to do that. Maybe that helped seal in the juices because as it was on the grill we kept spooning the marinade over it which caused the flames to lick the sides of the tails, SOOO good. We grabbed the scissors after and cut their bellies (easiest way for this and crab legs which we also had) the meat was opaque and perfect. You have to try lobster this way, trust me you will never want to eat at Red Lobster again, not when your food can come out this good and cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squishypea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdez, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was our first time grilling lobster and it couldn't have been easier! They only took about 7 minutes and were easily removed from the shell. They went great with drawn butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was my first experience with lobster. I had a hard time splitting them but I finally got the hang of it. I actually googled how to do it so I didnt ruin the meat. I made the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfect. My guests raved throughout dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe was perfect! A simple basting marinade that does not over power the natural flavor of the seafood. I also used it for shrimp and thought it complimented the shrimp perfectly. Anytime I grill shrimp or lobster I will use this recipe. No need for strong flavors when you are cooking something as delicate as seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was pretty good except for the fact that the lobster was a little overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Lopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
It is AMAZING!!! The Lobster Tails are a little spicy and a little sweet.And they go great with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong; I followed the recipe exactly; let the marinade sit for a bit before grilling them and basted them almost constantly while on the grill. I didn't find that this recipe enhanced the flavor of the lobster; sorely disappointed. Other seems to have had success with it so maybe I'll try it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States