Grilled Rock Lobster Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made this for my wife and family on Mother's Day for the first time...never a concern with recipes with great reviews on this website...Came out perfect (took about 15 minutes on the grill--we had large lobster tails, so it depends on their size for the grilling time. Flavor wasn't overwhelming which was great and everyone raving about how great the flavor was, which allowed the flavor of the lobster to shine. I substituted the salt with garlic salt since I didn't have any garlic powder... Everyone was worried that grilling the shrimp would cause it to be dry, oh contraire, it was moist and delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bomber
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Had a chance to try this out on my Weber performer today. It was absolutely delicious!!! My lobster tail was gigantic so splitting it length wise was a must. I grilled it for about 2-3 minutes flesh side down, 2 minutes shell side then I let it sit for about 4-5 minutes in indirect heat with the kettles lid on. Searing any type of meat for 2-3 minutes per side then letting it cook in indirect heat is always a recipe for success. *basting is key here. Beware of the flames after 60 seconds, keep a water bottle on hand to help control flares. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I've made these twice now and they are delicious and easy. The first time I BBQed them with steak and put them on when I turned the steak so that they would be on the grill for 7-8 minutes...but they weren't quite done so I had to finish them under the broiler for 3 minutes. The second time I cooked them for 7-8 minutes each side on the grill with our steak and they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Quick, easy and delicious. Just don't over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is the recipe I use on my lobster tails, except I butterfly and bake them, using this sauce/marinade to baste them before, and 2-3 times during. Baking them usually doesn't dry out the tail as grilling sometimes does, and is a much much more forgiving method of cooking lobster than broiling OR grilling. It results in a VERY succulent lobster, too. Here's the cooking times for a lobster tail by weight at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. You'll want to take them out once they reach 140 degrees internally. 2 oz = 12 minutes 4 oz = 18 minutes 6 oz = 22 minutes 8 oz = 26 minutes 10 oz = 28 minutes 12 oz = 30 minutes 14+ oz = 35(+?) minutes And just so you know that I know what I'm talking about, this is what mine look like when they're done. These are two 6 ounce tails that I just picked up at Walmart in their little 20 dollar pack that comes with the clarified butter. http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/561215_401361419926345_1424558192_n.jpg Also, two little tips for you if you're new to cooking lobsters. One, I like to put a little water on the pan underneath the tail before I put it in so the tail doesn't burn or stick. I'd say about a cup, a cup and a half maybe. And two, the best way to eat this lobster that you've prepared is to poke holes in it with your fork and then squeeze all the lemon juice of a lemon wedge over it. Then cut it up, and dip it in a little thing of warm to hot clarified butter, and you have a little bite of heaven on the end of your fork. Enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Fantastic and very easy. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Well, I was surprised at how well this turned out. I brought in the new year 2013 with this dish. I've NEVER cooked lobster before....although I've been served plenty in the past. The ingredients sounded lame....but WOW...what a wonderful flavor! We've decided to make this a tradition each new year....regardless of the weather!...and they are right....you really don't need butter. One tip that saved me was that you MUST have a water sprayer when they are on the grill...whether butter, etc....it will flame up...and keeping the lobster moist with the oil/butter is important. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savonburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was my first time cooking lobster, and honestly, the recipe sounded like it might be too bland for my taste...was I wrong! I took a taste of the marinade and thought it tasted like olive oil and couldn't recognize any of the other flavors. I was pretty skeptical of how the lobster would turn out, but the flavors all came together when I basted the tails and grilled. I was really happy with this meal and flavor... just wish I would have cooked more than two tails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is the first time that I have prepared lobster on the grill, and it was AWESOME! This made my Christmas Eve surf n turf meal awesome! If you are using a charcoal grill(the only type any real grill master uses) and you use a chimney to start your coals, lower the cooking time, the chimney gets the coals so hot, I would leave on around 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I read all the reviews and just like they said. It was our first try and boy was this a great recipe. We will use this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman

Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States