Grilled Radishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I can't believe in all my years of cooking I never thought to cook radishes. These are fabulous! If you like cooked cabbage, you'll love these. If you don't, this may not win you over. Like cabbage, radishes have a peppery bite to them, and it's pretty strong in those little red spheres. But it practically disappears when they're cooked. I've made this dish twice and here's my changes: halved the butter, halved the garlic (or else you'll miss out on the almost-sweetness that develops) and added about one tsp chicken boullion powder ('cause I like cabbage cooked in chicken broth). Additionally, I cooked them on the stove on low in a covered skillet, stirring occasionally. Also, I found that no additional salt or pepper was needed. Hubby thought they were "just OK" and 6-yr-old wouldn't even look at them, but I know I'll be making these all the time. How ideal that I can make just enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Okay, I admit it. I don't like radishes. In fact, when my produce delivery service delivered these this week I cringed inwardly. BUT I'd only had them raw on a salad so off I went looking for a way to cook them... and found... THIS. I was amazed.. I like radishes now :) The garlic is just great... yum! Even my veggie-scared husband liked them! The only thing I did differently is that I didn't have time to do the grill packet thing, so I pan-grilled/fried them on the stove. I give it a 4 only because my son didn't like it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were amazing! I cooked them in a skillet on the stovetop over medium heat for the same 20 minute cooking time, rather than grilling them, due to the weather. I used the same and same amount of ingredients and seasoned with kosher salt and black pepper towards the end. I absolutely loved them and my 2 year old asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Pretty good. I'm giving this a four only because I didn't grill the radishes and it should be rated as the recipe states. Otherwise it would be a three and a half because I sauteed the vegies in a pan instead. No rave reviews from four out of five people, however, our daughter Ashley loved them! Hubby and I are crazy about radishes in the raw and I guess we just missed the bite they give off when not cooked. I have to say, I had no idea that radishes had any natural sugar. Much like onions, they become so amazingly sweet. If you're not a radish fan, I suggest trying this as you'll probably be pleasantly surprised. My "Ash-b-gash" thanks you "Librarylady" for a side she truly enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This one gets 5 stars because I HATE radishes, but now I can eat them--and like them--thanks to this recipe. Like many other reviewers, I skipped the foil and cooked them in a pan with butter and garlic. The radishes are still crunchy, but all the bite and bitterness is gone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
i thought this was very tasty. I made 2 changes. one is i forgot to add the ice cube and the second is i cut a jalapeno pepper in half and cooked it in the packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I don't particularly care for radishes, but we received a bunch on our produce delivery and I was looking for a way to use them. I never would have thought to cook a radish, but these were excellent! They have a very mild taste, kind of a cross between a turnip and a potato, but don't have the mealy texture of a potato. This will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I'm a big fan of radishes and I have never tried cooking them before. This recipe was pretty good. The radishes had a great texture and the tatse was good. But I found that it tatses almost exactly like cabbage and I forget I'm eating radishes. If your not crazy about the spicy taste of radishes then i recommend this. But for those who love the flavor of radishes as I do, stick to the salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These were a bit weird. They really don't taste like radishes, although it's hard to say what they *do* taste like... Slightly cauliflower-y? Husband didn't like them at all. I ate a few and kind of enjoyed them, but I only finished about half my serving. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was trying to think of something to do with radishes besides eat them raw because I truly dislike the spicy flavor of raw radishes! So I decided to saute them in butter with fresh minced garlic, salt and pepper...this worked PERFECTLY! The spicy flavor was gone! This tasted just like sauteed cauliflower but with the texture of pan fried potatoes! And I love the pretty mauve color! Then I saw this recipe which is almost exactly how I prpared them except I didn't grill them in foil packets and I didn't use any ice. This was less expensive than cauliflower. I'll be making this often! Great side dish for meat or can be served ontop of pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States