Grilled Radishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I can't believe in all my years of cooking I never thought to cook radishes. These are fabulous! If you like cooked cabbage, you'll love these. If you don't, this may not win you over. Like cabbage, radishes have a peppery bite to them, and it's pretty strong in those little red spheres. But it practically disappears when they're cooked. I've made this dish twice and here's my changes: halved the butter, halved the garlic (or else you'll miss out on the almost-sweetness that develops) and added about one tsp chicken boullion powder ('cause I like cabbage cooked in chicken broth). Additionally, I cooked them on the stove on low in a covered skillet, stirring occasionally. Also, I found that no additional salt or pepper was needed. Hubby thought they were "just OK" and 6-yr-old wouldn't even look at them, but I know I'll be making these all the time. How ideal that I can make just enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was surprisingly good. I had never heard of eating cooked radish until I saw this recipe. This is an easy, delicious, recipe and practially no clean up is needed. You definitely should change the salt, butter, and garlic to your liking or else it could be a bit bland to some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I don't particularly care for radishes, but we received a bunch on our produce delivery and I was looking for a way to use them. I never would have thought to cook a radish, but these were excellent! They have a very mild taste, kind of a cross between a turnip and a potato, but don't have the mealy texture of a potato. This will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This one gets 5 stars because I HATE radishes, but now I can eat them--and like them--thanks to this recipe. Like many other reviewers, I skipped the foil and cooked them in a pan with butter and garlic. The radishes are still crunchy, but all the bite and bitterness is gone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My wife and I won't eat radishes usually, but we love this recipe! Now the only question is whether there's any nutrition left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I'm amazed that such a simple recipe is SOOOO good! I did not have bbq materials on hand, so I sauted it. Instead of butter, I used "I can't believe it's not butter" spray. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I was hesistant at first to try this, so only used a few radishes and adjusted the butter and garlic arccordingly, but still used a whole ice cube. Turned out FANTASTIC!! Neat way to use them. They almost have bit of a baconie taste :) Who doesn't like bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
These were really good! I had no idea that a cooked radish could be soo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This recipe is great. I use the pan with cover method like other reviewers suggested instead of grilling. It's simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina H Leung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars. I really dont eat radish but a friend of mines with a garden gave me tons of them so i had to find a way to cook them. instead of grilling them i used a foil packet in the oven and i sliced some jalapenos inside. it was very delish.....spicy but worth the try. my kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuddleflame96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States