Grilled Prawns with a Spicy Peanut-Lime Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made the shrimp in the marinade as written but decided I didn't want to use the sauce just for dipping so I added 2 tablespoons of coconut milk to it and served it over rice noodles instead. This was just an outstanding meal, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
It is a pity, but this recipe didn`t work for me. The marinade was great, so spicy and delicious. I will use it for grilled shrimp. But I didn`t care for the peanut butter sauce. I didn`t have mirin and used white wine with sugar instead (a suggestion from one cooking site), maybe it was a wrong way, but this sauce had a "sweet and sour thing" I didn`t like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is very, very good. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only thing I changed was adding coconut oil instead of peanut oil in the sauce (which is healthier and added a very subtle coconut flavor to the already delicious sauce). The sauce is a little runnier than most peanut sauces I'm used to- it's definitely more of a vinaigrette, I added a couple tsps of cornstarch and still found it a little runny- delicious over rice though! There is a pile of sauce left over... if you're just dipping the shrimp, you could probably get away with halving it.. A couple of people have mentioned skipping the marinade... do NOT do this! The marinade is absolutely delicious with flavors of lemongrass, garlic and ginger... I marinated mine about 45 mins, and didn't wipe the chunks off the shrimp before grilling. My bf thought the shrimp was delicious and ate it on its own... I thought it complemented the flavors in the sauce wonderfully. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
pretty good ,a little too much vinager for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly, except for leaving the prawns in the marinade for about an hour and a half (unexpected store run). Excellent! I'm thrilled that I have leftover vinaigrette for steak salad this week. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I didnt marinate the shrimp. I grilled them with salt and fresh ground pepper. The sauce was enough to make you want to slap someone. We added cornstarch to thicken it up a bit, but it was really awesome. Just the right spice, balanced by the peanut butter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This sauce tastes very similar to one I've made for a Mongolian hot pot dinner, but turned out significantly thinner, which led me to use a tsp. of cornstarch and water to quickly thicken it a touch. The flavor is actually so impeccable that making the marinade isn't really necessary, so I'll definitely be skipping that step next time around. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was the BEST peanut sauce I have tried and it complimented the shrimp (and I added chicken as well) perfectly. My family was over and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States