Grilled Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Really loved these potatoes, super easy and loved the flavor. I didnt use quite the amount of green pepper, just because we arent really crazy about a strong green pepper taste. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Super easy clean up too . . . will definitely fix again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous! Loved, loved this recipe ~ everyone did. Made just as written but with 4 green onions for the green pepper. This is reminiscent of scalloped potatoes, but with a very unique and delicious twist. I would use the oven next time, as the sauce leaked out of the (well sealed) foil which made turning the packet impossible, so I had issues with the whole thing sticking terribly to the foil. I would cover my casserole pan the entire time they're in the oven though, as I wouldn't want to compromise the incredible creaminess and flavor of the sauce and potatoes ~ this must be due to the 'steaming' these get in the foil packet. Thanks for submitting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was good, and so easy! I bought the wrong pepper- a red one instead of green, but just used it anyway, and it was good in there. The potatoes were cooked to perfection in the time stated in the recipe. The white sauce was easy to make; this one is hard to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I'm not sure why others found it bland... We thought it was perfect served with "Kickin' Crunchy Oven 'Fried' Chicken". For the sauce I added garlic powder and used a combination of browned flour and all-purpose. Also added sliced mushrooms, red bell pepper and green onions. We sliced the potatoes instead of dicing. We baked it in the oven at 350F for an hour, covered with aluminum foil. We think it might get more kick from some grainy Dijon mustard. EDIT: Made it again, and it's way better! I sauteed about two teaspoons of minced garlic in the butter before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. I did let the flour lightly brown. I added about one or two tablespoons of grainy (or old-fashioned) Dijon mustard. The sauce will initially taste salty on its own, but once added to the potatoes and whatever other veggies you're using that saltiness will dissipate. It is so good made this way! The second time we cooked in the oven with a roast that was rubbed with Dijonnaise (a combination of Dijon mustard and mayonnaise) and 'All-Around Spice Rub' from AR. We did slice it up as it was not down after an hour then browned the slices in a pan. Moist and juicy, even the next day. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made these for Recipe Group. I didn't want to heat the grill up, so cooked them in the oven. They were just ok. Son didn't like them. Wasn't a whole lot of flavor, just kind of bland. I added just a little ivory/red bell pepper, it really came through strong for some reason. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was the dish Recipe Group chose last week, and my husband and I loved it. I added garlic powder only because so many reviewers said it needed it. I baked it, covered, in a 425 degree oven for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
this was so easy to make and no clean up was a plus. will definetely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband and I really liked this, but the kids were kind of lukewarm. I made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Really tasty! I followed the ingredients as is, and would not change a thing. Rather than using the grill, I did these in the oven at 350 for one hour. Our family all loved this potato casserole, thanks for posting the recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
We all loved these and I would not change a thing. Many thanks for sharing cooking'mama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States