Grilled Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Really loved these potatoes, super easy and loved the flavor. I didnt use quite the amount of green pepper, just because we arent really crazy about a strong green pepper taste. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Super easy clean up too . . . will definitely fix again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made these for Recipe Group. I didn't want to heat the grill up, so cooked them in the oven. They were just ok. Son didn't like them. Wasn't a whole lot of flavor, just kind of bland. I added just a little ivory/red bell pepper, it really came through strong for some reason. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I don't know what happened! I followed the recipe EXACTLY except the potatoes were't done after over an hour on the grill. Grill thermometer registered 350º during the entire time. The potatoes weren't all cooked through but the parts that were weren't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was good, and so easy! I bought the wrong pepper- a red one instead of green, but just used it anyway, and it was good in there. The potatoes were cooked to perfection in the time stated in the recipe. The white sauce was easy to make; this one is hard to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband and I really liked this, but the kids were kind of lukewarm. I made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Exchange Group Recipe for the week of September 6th. This is a fairly classic scalloped potatoes recipe. I use unsalted butter, so for my purposes, I should've added more salt, but failed to do so. I did double the celery seed and seasoned pepper. I chose a Harry & David garlic pepper blend, because I felt like this recipe needed garlic. All in all this isn't bad, but the bell pepper wasn't my favorite in this, and it needed more salt and garlic (for me, anyway). I cooked mine in the oven @400 covered for 35 minutes and 15 minutes uncovered at the end to brown it. Thanks for the recipe, I'd try this again on the grill sometime with additional salt & fresh garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My grill is down for the count so I baked this in a 425F oven. We really didn't care for the green pepper, it seemed to overwhelm everything else. I would be inclined to omit the green pepper and add different spices if I make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
We loved these! I opted to bake them in the oven at 350 degrees and they took longer than 50 minutes to cook through. I will cook at higher temp next time or try on the grill. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous! Loved, loved this recipe ~ everyone did. Made just as written but with 4 green onions for the green pepper. This is reminiscent of scalloped potatoes, but with a very unique and delicious twist. I would use the oven next time, as the sauce leaked out of the (well sealed) foil which made turning the packet impossible, so I had issues with the whole thing sticking terribly to the foil. I would cover my casserole pan the entire time they're in the oven though, as I wouldn't want to compromise the incredible creaminess and flavor of the sauce and potatoes ~ this must be due to the 'steaming' these get in the foil packet. Thanks for submitting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
After reading the reviews about this being bland I spiced it up a bit with some garlic and tyme. It was still bland. I might try this again with more aggressive spicing and some spicy sausage as I liked the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States