Grilled Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Easy to make. Not as spicy as I would have liked so needed to adjust. I have tried it two ways, in the tin foil turned out perfect. Tried it in a tin pan on the second go around on the grill which did not turn out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
this was so easy to make and no clean up was a plus. will definetely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I'm not sure why others found it bland... We thought it was perfect served with "Kickin' Crunchy Oven 'Fried' Chicken". For the sauce I added garlic powder and used a combination of browned flour and all-purpose. Also added sliced mushrooms, red bell pepper and green onions. We sliced the potatoes instead of dicing. We baked it in the oven at 350F for an hour, covered with aluminum foil. We think it might get more kick from some grainy Dijon mustard. EDIT: Made it again, and it's way better! I sauteed about two teaspoons of minced garlic in the butter before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. I did let the flour lightly brown. I added about one or two tablespoons of grainy (or old-fashioned) Dijon mustard. The sauce will initially taste salty on its own, but once added to the potatoes and whatever other veggies you're using that saltiness will dissipate. It is so good made this way! The second time we cooked in the oven with a roast that was rubbed with Dijonnaise (a combination of Dijon mustard and mayonnaise) and 'All-Around Spice Rub' from AR. We did slice it up as it was not down after an hour then browned the slices in a pan. Moist and juicy, even the next day. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was the dish Recipe Group chose last week, and my husband and I loved it. I added garlic powder only because so many reviewers said it needed it. I baked it, covered, in a 425 degree oven for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
After reading the reviews about this being bland I spiced it up a bit with some garlic and tyme. It was still bland. I might try this again with more aggressive spicing and some spicy sausage as I liked the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous! Loved, loved this recipe ~ everyone did. Made just as written but with 4 green onions for the green pepper. This is reminiscent of scalloped potatoes, but with a very unique and delicious twist. I would use the oven next time, as the sauce leaked out of the (well sealed) foil which made turning the packet impossible, so I had issues with the whole thing sticking terribly to the foil. I would cover my casserole pan the entire time they're in the oven though, as I wouldn't want to compromise the incredible creaminess and flavor of the sauce and potatoes ~ this must be due to the 'steaming' these get in the foil packet. Thanks for submitting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
We loved these! I opted to bake them in the oven at 350 degrees and they took longer than 50 minutes to cook through. I will cook at higher temp next time or try on the grill. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My grill is down for the count so I baked this in a 425F oven. We really didn't care for the green pepper, it seemed to overwhelm everything else. I would be inclined to omit the green pepper and add different spices if I make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Exchange Group Recipe for the week of September 6th. This is a fairly classic scalloped potatoes recipe. I use unsalted butter, so for my purposes, I should've added more salt, but failed to do so. I did double the celery seed and seasoned pepper. I chose a Harry & David garlic pepper blend, because I felt like this recipe needed garlic. All in all this isn't bad, but the bell pepper wasn't my favorite in this, and it needed more salt and garlic (for me, anyway). I cooked mine in the oven @400 covered for 35 minutes and 15 minutes uncovered at the end to brown it. Thanks for the recipe, I'd try this again on the grill sometime with additional salt & fresh garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband and I really liked this, but the kids were kind of lukewarm. I made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States