Grilled Portobellos Sauteed in Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Green Jeanne
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I've been making this for quite some time and had to rate it since it's far too underrated for its category. This is definitely the side to use if you're trying to impress. Words cannot describe it's goodness. If you like mushrooms, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
A delicious dish that is not too difficult. For a great vegetarian sandwich, serve open-faced on toasted rosemary foccaccia spread with dijonnaise. Sprinkle with chopped fresh parsley. For the reviewer who ended up with venegar tasting mushrooms, your wine must have been off. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
We loved this! Didn't have shallot so we used vidalia onion instead and it was just wonderful with grilled steaks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Definite five star. I used a delicious red wine from the nights before, it was wonderful. If the wine is good, the mushroom will be as well. For presentation, remember that white wine will not change the color of the mushrooms as the red wil darkened them a bit. This was simple and all done on the BBQ. Will make it again Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Mushroom lovers, try this recipe. To the reviewer who needed to add cornstarch to the "sauce," note that the recipe states to let the wine "nearly evaporate." No sauce with this dish. I rubbed olive oil into the mushrooms (both sides) prior to grilling. I didn't have shallots onhand so used half a large vidalia onion and added garlic, like other reviewers. Paired nicely with grilled Steelhead Trout from this site. Thanks RCOWGILL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
It's a big hit! We loved it! Added to our side dish list. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Delicious! Very easy and fast! I served it on top of steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used white wine and garlic instead of shallot. Added some cornstarch because the sauce was too watery for us. It was easy, impressive side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Just OK for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Recipe gave great flavor to the mushrooms. I now use this recipe whenever I want mushrooms as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States