Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
SO good and SO easy!! I made this Saturday, and I liked it so much I am making it again tonight! I took the advice of some other reviewers and marinated mine for about three hours. The basil mayo is what really makes this five stars. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Wow, so good! I added a bit of minced garlic to the mayo mixture, skipped grilling the buns and subbed roasted red peppers and mozzarella for the lettuce and tomato. Couldn't believe what a quick and delicious meal this was - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I really like this sandwich!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
The best portobello sandwich I ever had! I served it on artisan bread, warm from the grill. I made bruschetta with the leftover bread and basil, but used that as the bun for my leftover portobellos. So it became a bruschetta portobello burger- heaven! This is a new summer grilling staple at our place. My three year old loved it, but he's an adventurous eater- as for my husband, he's a corn dog man, so this didn't exactly fly for him. But those with a love for gourmet will find this to be kickin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I thought this was a great "burger"! I have always loved portobello sandwiches and this was no different. It was very easy to make, especially the smaller portobellos. I'm not sure how to tell when the mushroom, especially the big ones, are fully cooked, so I think some of the big, thick ones didn't turn out as well as the smaller ones. I would make these again, but I think next time I'll also marinate some red onions in the same sauce and throw them on the "burger".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I didn't think it was possible, but this REALLY does have a steak flavor. Delicious. I am craving it again! Even my son who doesn't like mushrooms enjoyed trying this. Too bad they were all gone before he mustered his food courage and tried the last little nibble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A wonderful sandwich! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe! First time we made it we accidentally mixed all ingredients together and cooked the mushrooms in all of it instead of having the mayo mix on its own. They were actually better this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I love the basil mayo and the portobello tasted better than a regular burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! Very satisfying on a hot summer night. The only changes I made were 1) to marinade the mushrooms in the vinegar/oil/garlic for 2 hours instead of just brushing it on before grilling. The mushrooms were very flavorful that way, and 2) to add a slight amount of cheese (pick your favorite) onto the mushrooms just before taking off the grill. I loved the mayo, and will look for other ways to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States