Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
WOW - these are fabulous! I love portobello mushrooms, so I had to give this a try. Plus they're so easy to put together. It's great for lunch or a quick weeknight meal. I would recommend marinating the mushrooms for a couple of hours vs. a few minutes. Don't skip the basil mayo, it's awesome! I used Hellman's light mayo and toasted some sesame seed rolls then added a slice of provolone along with the rest of the ingredients. These are so good, you'll never miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
8-15-11: Ann said this was excellent, even though I undercooked them and had to put them back on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
One word: WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was easy, and delicious. I've made it twice, exactly as written - no changes. I toyed with the idea of adding a slice of melty cheese, but haven't yet. I like the idea of a mostly vegan meal as I am exploring more meat-free dishes. Really though, you almost think you are eating a savory piece of meat in this sandwich! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I've made portobello sandwiches for years and have to admit the basil mayo really puts a twist in them. Am definitely keeping this as my new favorite way to serve them. I didn't have any buns so used crusty Italian bread that I brushed with olive oil and toasted on the grill for a few minutes. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious! I jut made this for my husband who thinks there should be meat in every meal. This changed his mind and will now be on our weekly menu! Meat will not be missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
the sauce...mayo/basil/lemon was nice, everyone liked the sauce however the balsalmic vinegar did not go over. I've had much better portabello's and this wasn't one. I'd ditch the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow. I almost didn't make the mayo as I don't typically put mayo on my burgers, but I think this added to perfection! I made a lot more marinade mix than the recipe called for to help coat the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I did not change any of the ingredients and it was delicious. I will definitely make again. I had never grilled a portabella before so checked on line and most articles said to peal the top skin off. It came off so easy. Since it was so large, I grilled each side 7 minutes and it was perfect. I put the marinade on a half hour before grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I sized this down for two so it may have adjusted the taste. But i thought this was wonderful. The mushroom was juicy and the may was a perfect complement. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States