Grilled Portobello and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This was delicious. I baked the portobellos according to another recipe, but then followed everything else. I used fresh mozzerella and made a burger - it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Hubby makes these a lot during the summer months on our grill. He adds grilled sliced tomatoes and provolone cheese and pops them on toasted crusty rolls. We then top with the marinara sauce. Portobello's are so meaty you hardly miss the burger. Delicious Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Absolutely fabulous recipe! I didn't heat the marinara sauce but wish that I had because the different layers ended up being different temperatures. Also, I may heat up the roasted red peppers and then add them. Really a great recipe and very filling. I don't think this would work for an appetizer because it is so hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
DEELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This was excellent. My husband was not interested in trying it but did and like it so much he ate a second one and asked me to make it again soon. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Absolutely delicioius! I used fresh mozzarella which melted just right under the broiler. I thought this might not be filling enough as a main dish, but with a green salad and some fresh bread to dip into the marinara sauce, one and a half portobello caps per person was more than enough. This will be a summer staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This was wonderful! For those of you who like to improvise, DO NOT CHANGE A THING! This was perfect if you follow the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Yummy! And my husband isn't a huge mushroom person - but he gobbled these up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
So yummy. I served this as an appetizer at a grilling party. Several people ended up having them as the main course. I made my own Italian dressing from scratch as the flavor is much better and the mushrooms definely deserved the extra love. Fantastic and I will be serving these much more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wow, this was surprisingly yummy and also filling. My husband, who's not a big bell pepper fan, really enjoyed this as well. I chopped the roasted red peppers, instead of slicing them, which I think made it easier to eat. I also omitted the oregano & basil due to family preference, & sprinkled some garlic & dried parsley on top of the peppers before adding part skim milk mozzarella. This is good enough & different enough to serve to company. Oh & I forgot to add that, due to the cold weather, I baked this in the oven at 350 degrees, covered with aluminum foil, until the mushrooms were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States