Grilled Portobello and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This is such a great recipe! I make what I like to call Portobello Pizza "Burgers" from this. I substitute pizza sauce for the marinara, and place each grilled mushroom filled with the mozzarella and pepper mixture in a foil packet back over the grill for a few minutes until all is melted stem side up inside. I then serve each mushroom on either foccacia bread or Italian roll. I also offer a store bought gardinera relish. This has been a definite hit with young and old - and a "sneeky" way to get kids to eat something besides a regular burger at a cookout. This is a defintie keeper! Thanks, Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Very tasty...I just grilled them on the stovetop first, and used fresh mozzarella. I put the whole thing on a roll for a sandwich, and it turned out great. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Hubby makes these a lot during the summer months on our grill. He adds grilled sliced tomatoes and provolone cheese and pops them on toasted crusty rolls. We then top with the marinara sauce. Portobello's are so meaty you hardly miss the burger. Delicious Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Absolutely fabulous recipe! I didn't heat the marinara sauce but wish that I had because the different layers ended up being different temperatures. Also, I may heat up the roasted red peppers and then add them. Really a great recipe and very filling. I don't think this would work for an appetizer because it is so hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This was good but something was overly sweet about it. I don't know if I marinated it too long or with too much Italian dressing, if I used too much sauce (I had spaghetti sauce on hand) or if it was the peppers. It just didn't taste quite right to me. But my husband really liked them a lot so I will make again with some slight alterations. Probably, I should follow the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I'm new to cooking and usually stick to recipes with lots of stars and user comments, but for some reason this one seemed worth trying - and I'm so glad I did! I followed the recipe exactly and they were sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This is a great recipe. We had it as a main dish. I did make a slight change, because of ingredients I had on hand. I used fresh red bell peppers, diced & chopped up the mushroom stems, then added both to the marinara sauce. The bell peppers were slightly crunchy which added another dimension to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salome, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Absolutely delicioius! I used fresh mozzarella which melted just right under the broiler. I thought this might not be filling enough as a main dish, but with a green salad and some fresh bread to dip into the marinara sauce, one and a half portobello caps per person was more than enough. This will be a summer staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was an easy and delicious dinner that will be repeated several times this summer. A big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a great recipe! I made it exactly as written. It is sooo easy, and sooo very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States