Grilled Portobello and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Absolutely delicioius! I used fresh mozzarella which melted just right under the broiler. I thought this might not be filling enough as a main dish, but with a green salad and some fresh bread to dip into the marinara sauce, one and a half portobello caps per person was more than enough. This will be a summer staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Hubby makes these a lot during the summer months on our grill. He adds grilled sliced tomatoes and provolone cheese and pops them on toasted crusty rolls. We then top with the marinara sauce. Portobello's are so meaty you hardly miss the burger. Delicious Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This was excellent. My husband was not interested in trying it but did and like it so much he ate a second one and asked me to make it again soon. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
DEELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This was delicious. I baked the portobellos according to another recipe, but then followed everything else. I used fresh mozzerella and made a burger - it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Absolutely fabulous recipe! I didn't heat the marinara sauce but wish that I had because the different layers ended up being different temperatures. Also, I may heat up the roasted red peppers and then add them. Really a great recipe and very filling. I don't think this would work for an appetizer because it is so hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Simple and good, but I'm not big on the italian dressing part, so I also made a simple marinade using olive oil, vinegar, and some spices. Also, dried herbs are similar in taste to sawdust, use fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This was good but something was overly sweet about it. I don't know if I marinated it too long or with too much Italian dressing, if I used too much sauce (I had spaghetti sauce on hand) or if it was the peppers. It just didn't taste quite right to me. But my husband really liked them a lot so I will make again with some slight alterations. Probably, I should follow the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a great recipe! I made it exactly as written. It is sooo easy, and sooo very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Very tasty...I just grilled them on the stovetop first, and used fresh mozzarella. I put the whole thing on a roll for a sandwich, and it turned out great. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States