Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is really a terrific recipe. I've grilled portobello's a lot in the past, but no recipe has ever come close to the flavor and freshness that you get with this! I enhanced it just a bit by adding a little finely chopped red onion and a bit of dried thyme and oregano for added color and flavor. A light sprinkle of shredded parmesan at the end is nice too - any more than a sprinkle though would ruin the balance of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
A slice of Muenster cheese puts these over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I've never made portobello mushrooms before, and this recipe was very easy to follow (not much of a cook) and delicious! Although I think I followed the measurements exactly, I didn't have enough filling for all of the caps. I brought a leftover to work the next day and it looked and smelled gourmet! I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Never had Portabello mushrooms before--this made a GREAT sandwich - can't waite to make it for my sister & hubby when they come to visit. So easy & so good! We did add to it a bit--thin sliced avacado sprinkled with garlic & salt - a thin sliced tomattoe - swiss cheese and thinly sliced onion sauted in butter--yummm! Along with whole wheat bread toasted. The best sandwich I've ever had--and I'm almost as old as dirt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I brought this to 'Girls Poker Night' and the response I got was, "Holy heck this is amazing!" Everyone asked for the recipe. I had problems with the grill so I put the mushrooms in a frying pan, covered, for 15 min on medium heat. I added some Havarti cheese and cooked for another few minutes until melted. Absolutly amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was INCREDIBLE. I added a splash of balsamic vinegar to the topping mixture, otherwise followed it exactly. Then I grilled the mushrooms (which were HUGE) gill side down for a few minutes, then turned over and added the topping. Right before the end, I added a sprinkling of smoked Gouda to melt. While I made this as a side dish to accompany Marinated Grilled Shrimp by Rachel (also on this site and 5*****!), these mushrooms could easily stand on their own. They end up with an amazing beefy quality, very juicy and tons of flavor! The bell peppers disappear, so nothing special needs to be done there, just chop them finely. WILL DEFINITELY KEEP THIS RECIPE and use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
deliciouso! I used the recipe and added a little more red pepper, black pepper, andminced and added the stems of the mushrooms to the filling. I topped it off with smoked gouda, and baked it like another poster suggested. WONDERFUL! Actually will be making it again this evening and will experiment with another cheese (cheddar perhaps? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Very good. I ended up pureeing the red pepper/olive oil/etc. mix before placing it on top of the mushrooms. I also topped it with mozzarella cheese. It was very good, but a little bland. I think that if I make this again, I will add more seasonings to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I added a bit of balsamic vinegarette dressing and some mozzarella cheese to the gill side right before putting them on the grill and they were SOOO good! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wonderful! We top them with feta cheese and we are trying blue chesse tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States