Grilled Portabellas with Caramelized Onions and Avocados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Delicious! I marinated my portabella with a greek marinade which went very well with the red onion and avocado. Serve on a whole wheat kaiser and you're eating healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProduceMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Loved it! My Husband gave it 5 stars and that is hard to get! I did change it a bit as I did not have an avocado. Instead, I added some fresh picked rosemary and thyme to the mushrooms as they were finishing on the grill, added some Swiss cheese and then added sliced tomato with fresh picked basil. Served it on a toasted bagel thin bun. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very good. I thought it would need some more condiments but it was fine without it. Very weight watchers friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Walter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
very good. i thought you carmalized onions with sugar. added a little splenda to onion. very good. DH said onion made the recipe- we didnt use the bun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I used my panini maker to grill the portobellos - easy and quick! I also added some crumbled gorgonzola cheese and sliced tomatoes to the sandwich. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Loved this recipe! My 12 year old said she now prefers this over a hamburger! We added mayo on the bun. She said she would like to add mozerella to hers next time. I like it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonjour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
So easy and delicous. Even my husband who is a devoted carnivore enjoyed. Served with sweet potato fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
My plan was to have these with our grilled steaks tonight (without the bun) but Hubs was not amenable to that and, for that matter, really wasn't too enthused about trying it period. He did agree, however, to have this as a light lunch (which I thought was weird, but whatever. I was lucky he was a good sport and tried it at all). We both agreed to have this on its own, without the bun. We both enjoyed it! I thought it would have been better with any number of seasonings and/or sauces, but Hubs said he liked the simplicity of it just as, with just a bit of salt and pepper. While it was okay for a light lunch, I would still prefer this (again, without the bun) as either a side dish or warm salad. Nice presentation, tastes wonderful and I feel like I did something healthy and good for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Hit the spot! Perfectly simple and tasty. I put a slice of baby swiss on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States