Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I liked this a lot, but my husband only liked the chops. In the future I may make this without the onions & pears, or simply without the pears, which were good but probably not worth the trouble for a weeknight. I may make the whole recipe again for guests (very gourmet look and flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. Restaurant quality dinner. My onions fell apart but that was fine. Don't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I cooked this recipe for a dinner party and the look on the faces of my guests told it all.... it is such a great recipe! If you have never cooked with vinegar before, OPEN a window. I found out the hard way that boiling vinegar will make it hard to stand in an unventilated room. I used hickory chips on the grill and it did add a nice smokey flavor to everything. Will definitely make this again when I want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Ackermann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Incredible recipe. Definitely good enough for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The flavor of the pork is VERY good in this - I was a little skeptical of the "brining" process, but I guess it worked. I stuck toothpicks through my onion wedges - I don't knw how they would have stayed together otherwise...I barely had the pears in long enough to heat them up, and still they were overcooked. When I make this again I won't heat them at all, just pour the hot sauce on 'em. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellant and easy....I substituted apples for pears....I wasn't sure how to cut them so I did some thick and some thinner...I definatley recommend thicker, that way they dont turn to mush...Definately Recommend. Served with Rosmary roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Fabulous combination of flavors. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was great, but I made some changes. I didn't use pork chops, I used chicken breasts. Instead of brining them, I marinated them in sherry, olive oil, garlic, and rosemary. I didn't grill. I sauteed the onions (cut into rings) and the pears, removed them,cooked the chicken in the same pan. To the vinegar mix, I added about 1 tablespoon of honey and two drops of Tabasco and poured it over the onions and pears while the chicken cooked. I deglazed the skillet with a little sherry, dumped the onions/pears back in, warmed them back up and served. Marvelous! I paired it with a sweet potato/pear recipe from this site and used the leftover cranberry sauce from that recipe to accompany the chicken. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I made it for my fiance for our aniiversary dinner, and he said it was the best meal he's had in a year! I browned the pork in a pan on the stove because we do not have a grill, but it turned out great. Very good served with a simple salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Had a hard time getting the vinegar reduced properly which probably affected the sauce. I will try it again with thinner chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States