Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. Restaurant quality dinner. My onions fell apart but that was fine. Don't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I cooked this recipe for a dinner party and the look on the faces of my guests told it all.... it is such a great recipe! If you have never cooked with vinegar before, OPEN a window. I found out the hard way that boiling vinegar will make it hard to stand in an unventilated room. I used hickory chips on the grill and it did add a nice smokey flavor to everything. Will definitely make this again when I want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Ackermann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Incredible recipe. Definitely good enough for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The flavor of the pork is VERY good in this - I was a little skeptical of the "brining" process, but I guess it worked. I stuck toothpicks through my onion wedges - I don't knw how they would have stayed together otherwise...I barely had the pears in long enough to heat them up, and still they were overcooked. When I make this again I won't heat them at all, just pour the hot sauce on 'em. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellant and easy....I substituted apples for pears....I wasn't sure how to cut them so I did some thick and some thinner...I definatley recommend thicker, that way they dont turn to mush...Definately Recommend. Served with Rosmary roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Fabulous combination of flavors. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was great, but I made some changes. I didn't use pork chops, I used chicken breasts. Instead of brining them, I marinated them in sherry, olive oil, garlic, and rosemary. I didn't grill. I sauteed the onions (cut into rings) and the pears, removed them,cooked the chicken in the same pan. To the vinegar mix, I added about 1 tablespoon of honey and two drops of Tabasco and poured it over the onions and pears while the chicken cooked. I deglazed the skillet with a little sherry, dumped the onions/pears back in, warmed them back up and served. Marvelous! I paired it with a sweet potato/pear recipe from this site and used the leftover cranberry sauce from that recipe to accompany the chicken. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I made it for my fiance for our aniiversary dinner, and he said it was the best meal he's had in a year! I browned the pork in a pan on the stove because we do not have a grill, but it turned out great. Very good served with a simple salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Had a hard time getting the vinegar reduced properly which probably affected the sauce. I will try it again with thinner chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This recipe was made by family and was a wonderful dish. I don't know how easy it is to prepare, but has made it's way into my collection to make at just the right time. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States