Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was good and flavorful. 3 stars because it was just not the absolute BEST porkchops we've had, but it is definitely a good one time thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
What a great recipe and a big hit for my parents anniversary dinner! All the prep work paid off. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I skipped the brining. No need! I added 1/2 tsp of quince paste to the balsamic reduction and reduced the salt overall. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was delicious. I did not brine but I think I will try next time. The pear sauce was unreal and the kids enjoyed it as much as we did. We George Formaned it due to weather and it was still amazing. It takes some time to prepare, believe the 2hour prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This recipe is the best! So easy to make! I'm hoping I can lightly cook the pear and onions ahead and freeze, since I still have about 300 pears to figure out what to do with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
i thought i had pears when i started this recipe but found out they were too too ripe to use, so i used PEACHES instead.. AMAZING recipe! I will definitely be making this again. the flavors work so well together. I used Cento Balsamic vinegar and it didnt exactly thicken when reduced but when i added it to the peaches and onoins, it came out very well. my husband is not an adventurous eater, so he ate his pork chop plain, but it was tender, juicy and very flavorful. I used a a boneless chop and watched them carefully on the grill so they did not overcook. I only had 4 chops .. wish i had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very nice. Hubs complained about the smell of the balsamic vinegar in the house but still ate and enjoyed these pork chops. I didn't fry the pears with onions; just grilled them briefly with the pork chops and it worked perfectly. Very nice combo of savory and sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Tonight's dinner was like eating in a high class restaurant - delicious! There are a few steps to this recipe, but none of them are difficult and the results were so worth the effort. Everything can be done ahead of time except the grilling or broiling the meat. I used pork steaks instead of chops and would do that again. I broiled them instead of grilling them. It's not the prettiest looking meal, but makes up for it in taste - a perfect meal to serve guests in the Fall when winter pears come out. I used bartlett pears and didn't have sweet onions, so I used regular onions. I would use the sweet onions if I had them. My husband who is pretty picky gave this a 9 out of a possible 10, and if it had sweet onions, I am sure he would have given it a 10+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BridgehavenJude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Had pears to use and a few self butchered loin chops in the freezer. Turned out great. For those who commented that this was too salty....the type of salt used in the brine makes a big difference....not all are created equal. Look up the type of salt you are substituting in comparison with kosher salt. I am a briner (do your next holiday turkey with a brine!)...I have been producing great meals for over 35 years... I found no problem with this using the kosher salt at the amount called for..HOWEVER it is common practice to ALWAYS rinse the brined meat then pat dry...which this recipe neglects to mention. May not be needed...just something I was taught and always do. I find dishes salty even if I do not add any salt...and this brine did not 'offend' me...most likely due to my rinsing habit. BTW...want to cut down on sugar?...substitute light Agave Nectar for the sugar. Only changes I made was to rinse the meat after the brine...and I am a tosser...so did not measure the called for ingredients...I go by sight,taste and smell....plus I pan fried the pork, after coating in freshly ground pepper. I added the leftover marinade at the end of cooking the pork. (NOT the brine...always dispose of your brine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Made this tonight and the family loved it! As for the brine, the salt and sugar will dissolve in room temperature water if you simply stir it for a bit before adding the pork. I used coarse salt and sugar in the raw (also large granules), and had no problems at all after stirring it. I found no need to add any salt to the chops before grilling--brining is sufficient after 1 hour. I'm sure dried rosemary would work in a pinch, but fresh rosemary is really added so much flavor. I tried to keep the onions in a wedge, but they fell apart as they browned. I didn't see this as a problem though. Only alteration I made was to use peaches instead of pears--yummy!!! Cut into large wedges so they wouldn't fall apart or get mushy. We loved it, and it will be in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States