Grilled Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Dang! This is great! Don't shy from this one. I didn't want to mess around when company was here, so I did the crusts ahead of time. I did NOT use high heat - kind of mediumish. About 15 minutes before dinner time, I put the crusts back on the grill, brownest side down for a couple of minutes, flipped 'em, and dressed them, closed the lid. Let 'em cook till cheese melted. Since a large crust would not manage easily (flipping, etc.), I made four small pizzas, about 10-12 inches out of a bread machine recipe that used 4 !/2 cups flour. That allowed me to make four different kinds of pizza (regular; meat lovers; vegetarian; and best of all, salsa, jalepeno, black olives, cheese). Cut them in 6 or 8 pieces so folks can try them all. Next on my list - Reuben pizza - recipe on this site. And dessert pizza. Don't be afraid of the grill. I even bake cakes, homemade mac and cheese, etc. on the grill (place long cooks and fragile stuff on pizza stone to break the direct heat). Maybe the best part of the grill is the cleanup (no dishes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is AWESOME! I never heard of putting pizza dough on the grill. I even used package pizza crust and it still tasted delicious. The crust did not stick like I expected it to and the grill gave it a great flavor! We will probably be making this in my house weekly throughout the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made for a change of pace to our typical "grill" faire and this was a HIT! Had various toppings set up (added fresh asiago, roasted red peppers, sausage, smoked chicken, artichokes, sun-dried pesto, etc...) and let everyone top their own. My whole family raved about the crust and had fun making their own designer pizzas. This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I've never actually used the dough recipe as intended. I had the feeling to use it as a meat pocket and dinner roll recipe in an oven. May I say, both were fantastic. Just make it as you would normally, and as a meat pocket, flatten it out stuff it a bit, seal and bake at 350. Takes about 20 or so minutes. But if you like the bread soft, about 15. The crisper and harder, longer. Rolls, just into desired shape and size and bake. 15 min, or longer depending how you like it. A little out there, but I haven't bought bread for 2 weeks because of this. It's way cheaper and tastier for me to just make rolls or loaves out of this. Just throw in seeds or other things into it. It's great to not have to wait for it to rise. But I still make bread the old fashion way sometimes. It tastes way better. But if I don't have time, this is a great replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paul & shari
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We had a blast making pizzas on the grill here in Seattle on Sunday evening! We used a pizza sauce recipe Shari had gotten from Frank & Marlene Muckenhirn in Delano, MN years ago for pizza #1, added fresh toppings & cheese, followed the grilling instuctions, & had a very successful first attempt. For pizza #2, we made fresh pesto sauce from our garden, added toppings, & this version was incredible as well! For #3, we combined sauces, added sun dried tomates & pablano peppers, cheese, & yum yum - it was wonderful as well! We did assembly line pizzas - fun and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Just lovely and terribly easy to make for this novice baker and master griller. I added a good amount of Italian spices to give it a little depth and compliment the toppings I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinneapolitanMorsel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I've done pizza on the grill for a while now! definitely the best way to do it and an amazing thin but firm crust. This past summer we actually had a BBQ pizza party and had all the toppings on a "tier" and quickly grilled the pizza dough, everyone topped there own and had there own individual pizza. The taste is sooo unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Great! I used store bought refridgerator whole wheat pizza dough and made my own sauce. I also added mushrooms, mozzarella and turkey pepperonni! Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I've never grilled a pizza crust before and have to say I'm surprised at how delicious this turned out! It was so soft and crusty. I did make my dough ahead of time and left it in the fridge. About 20 minutes before I began grilling, I took out the dough and let it thaw/rise a bit. I grilled this on my George Foreman (the panini press type) I just left the top up and then put it down during the last minute of cooking. It worked perfectly! I used this dough as the base for Chicken Fajita Grilled Pizzas (recipe also on this site) and it was such a perfect combination. I'll definitely be using this dough often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Perfect recipe for outdoor entertaining. Kids LOVE to make their own mini pizza creations. We topped our pizzas with grilled veggies from the garden. Lots of fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

See how to make a quick-and-easy sausage pizza on the grill.

Karen's Tips for Grilled Pizza

Watch a Real Mom make quick-and-easy pizza on the grill.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States